COVID-19
View the latest updates and emergency notifications on the COVID-19 News & Information website.
College of Humanities & Fine Arts

Yuliana Calvillo Solis

1. Where are you from?

I am originally from Mexico but I moved to Lake County, California when I was six.

2. When are you expecting to graduate?

My expected graduation date is May 2020

3. What’s your major (and minor, if applicable)?

I am a double major in French and Humanities as well as a double minor in European Studies and Middle Eastern Studies.

4. What’s it like to be a student at Chico State?

I would say that being a student at Chico State is very interesting. There is a little bit of everything and I find the different ambiances very intriguing.

5. What’s been your favorite class at Chico State and why?

My favorite class so far has been HUMN 224. I was introduced to a lot of new material in this class as well as asked to do things that were way out of my comfort zone e.g. speaking every day. It was challenging because I am a fairly shy person but it made me grow a lot.

6. What would be your most important advice for incoming freshman?

I would say to just use all of the resources available. I would encourage them to attend as many workshops and Career Fairs as possible as well as use the tutoring center and of course to visit their professors during office hours.

7. What do you plan on doing when you graduate from Chico State?

After graduating I plan on traveling for a month or two and then hopefully volunteering with an NGO working with immigrants and refugees. Later on I would also like to pursue a Phd.

Headshot HFA Ambassador Yuliana Calvillo Solis