College of Humanities & Fine Arts



E.I. Miller Award

Chico alum Vaden Mayer (1936) endowed this award to honor Professor and interim University President Miller for his teaching ability. It is awarded to a student who demonstrates outstanding scholarship.

History Essay Award

This award recognizes exceptional writing on any topic in history; the winner is selected by the faculty in the department.

Lois H. McDonald History Graduate Research Award

Established to assist graduate students with expenses associated with off-campus research, this award was endowed by alum Lois H. McDonald (1976), a local historian who was awarded the Individual Award of Merit by the Conference of California Historical Societies for her contributions to state and local history.

Sarah Libby Mahood Merit Award

This award was endowed by Ms. Mahood's parents after she died while a Chico State student. It honors a senior student with exemplary personal character and academic achievement.


Clarence McIntosh-William Hutchinson Memorial Research Scholarship in California & Western History

These awards honor two beloved faculty who taught in the History Department for many years. The funds are to be used to help defray the costs of research for students conducting research in any aspect of California history or the history of the American West.

The Geraldine M. Reager Memorial Scholarship

Geraldine Margaret Reager was born June 10, 1929 in Orland, California. Her ancestors were early pioneers of Glenn County. Geraldine, or "Aunt Geri," earned her teaching credential from Chico State in 1951 and taught high school in Biggs, Chester, and Sacramento for more than 30 years. Her family established this endowed scholarship to honor her memory by providing support to students who reflect her interests in history and teaching.

Jacqueline Barnhart Memorial Scholarship

Professor Barnhart taught at Chico for more than 20 years. When she died, her family and colleagues established this award to honor Dr. Barnhart's commitment to helping students succeed. The award provides assistance to students with a commitment to academic achievement in history.

Lew D. Oliver Scholarship

Professor Lew Oliver, history, was an interim president of the University. This scholarship was established in his memory by his wife and is awarded to students with academic potential.

Lois E. Christensen Scholarship

Professor Emerita Lois Christensen endowed this scholarship for junior or senior history majors with high academic achievement. Professor Christensen taught in the History Department, served as chair of the department, and as dean of the College of Humanities and Fine Arts.

Michael J. Gillis Scholarship

The family and friends of Michael J. Gills, professor emeritus of history, established this scholarship to honor of his dedication to students and teaching. One of the best loved faculty in history and university life courses, Gillis was the co-author with Professor Mike Magliari of John Bidwell's California: Observations and Reflections of a Pioneer, 1841-1900, the well-regarded biography of the founder of the city of Chico. This award goes to students who show academic promise.