Human Resources Service Center

Classification Review Procedures and Information

Classification Review Forms


The California State University system has a total of 382 classifications.  Every job on every campus fits into one of these classifications.

It is CSU policy to strive to ensure that duties, responsibilities, and skill levels assigned to staff and management positions reflect the appropriate classification/skill level in accordance with the Classification and Qualification Standards issued by the CSU Trustees.

The responsibility for conducting classification/skill level reviews and establishing classification/skill level and Fair Labor and Standards Act (FLSA) designation decisions has been delegated to the Human Resources Service Center Classification & Compensation Services. Position reviews include internal campus classification/skill level alignment and equity analysis. Such an effort promotes internal consistency across campus. Once assigned a classification/skill level, the position will remain so identified until significant changes occur in the responsibility and complexity of the job.

Classification is determined by the type of work done, and the level at which it is performed.  Some classifications require professional licenses.  An incumbent would normally spend at least a year in the position before a review is requested, unless additional duties are added that might warrant a review of the position.

Range/Grade Reference Chart

Range/Grade application can vary by classification. It can identify a pay plan, skill level or FLSA status.

Range/Grade Reference Chart
112-Month Pay Plan
Skill Level 1 (i.e. ASA I)
Foundation Skill Level for IT Series
Administrative Analyst/Specialist I (Non-Exempt)
212-Month Pay Plan
Skill Level 2 (i.e. ASC II)
Career Skill Level for IT Series
Administrative Analyst/Specialist II (Exempt I)
3Expert Skill Level for IT Series
Administrative Analyst/Specialist III (Exempt II)
4Skill Level 2 (i.e. ASC II)
Administrative Analyst/Specialist IV (Exempt III)
6 & 711/12 Pay Plan
8 & 910/12 Pay Plan

Exempt vs. Non-Exempt


Non-exempt employees are entitled under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) to overtime. Work hours must be tracked and maintained, pursuant to the FLSA’s record-keeping requirements. The employee must be paid overtime (at time and one-half) for any hours worked over 40 in a workweek.


Exempt employees are not subject to the overtime provisions of the FLSA and are not eligible for overtime or compensatory time off. To be exempt, the employee’s position and employment provisions must pass the following tests: Salary Level, Salary Basis and Standard Duties tests.

The CSU has established the exempt status of each classification.  Classification & Compensation is responsible for ensuring employees classified as “exempt” meet all exemption requirements under the FLSA, keeping in mind that the job title may not reflect the scope of duties performed and the job title does not determine exempt status. Guidelines for determining the exemption status are provided below:

  1. Manager prepares job description based on campus operational needs and submits to Classification and Compensation Services (CLCO).
  2. CLCO applies the FLSA Standard Duties tests to determine the exemption status, keeping in mind that job title may not reflect the scope of duties performed.
  3. Based on the outcome of the Standard Duties exemption test, CLCO selects the most appropriate bargaining unit, classification, and skill level, if applicable.
  4. If the employee is exempt under the Standard Duties test, CLCO then applies the salary tests.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal labor law of general and nationwide application, including Overtime, Minimum Wages, Child Labor Protections, and the Equal Pay Act.

Need Help?