International Student and Scholar Services

Free ESL Tutoring

English as a Second Language Support Services (ESLSS)

ESL Support Services (ESLSS) offers free online tutoring services for non-native speakers of English who want to improve their English proficiency. We serve international students, bilinguals born in the U.S., and anyone else who identifies as a non-native speaker of English. Please note that this service is only for current CSU, Chico students and staff. 

We are happy to assist you with:

  • Written assignments at all stages of completion
  • Reading comprehension
  • Oral presentations
  • Scholarship/job/graduate school applications
  • Any other task that requires proficiency in the English language

We also provide a space to practice English conversation skills in a fun, informal and low-stakes environment. 

We will offer in-person tutoring through drop-in visits (no appointments needed!), as well as online tutoring using a variety of platforms (Google doc editing, live Zoom sessions, etc.). For more information and to request ESL tutoring, please visit our website.

Contact Us

Saundra Wright, Coordinator
skwright@csuchico.edu

Website: https://www.csuchico.edu/engl/resources/esl-resource.shtml

Contact us! Fall 2021 Instructional Student Assistant Staff

Johana Abreu

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available in ARTS 206A on:

  • Wednesdays from 12:00 – 3:00
  • Fridays from 1:00 – 3:00

jjabreu@mail.csuchico.edu 


Trey Gaither

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available in ARTS 206A on:

  • Mondays from 12:00 – 3:00
  • Tuesdays from 2:00 – 3:00
  • Thursdays from 2:00 – 3:00

tegaither@mail.csuchico.edu


Mariah Harvey-Morales

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available on Zoom by appointment: request tutoring services here

maharvey-morales@mail.csuchico.edu


Melinda Jackson

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available on Zoom by appointment: request tutoring services here

mjackson47@mail.csuchico.edu


Larisa Sky Perkins-Orta

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available on Zoom by appointment: request tutoring services here

lsperkins-orta@mail.csuchico.edu


Myra Scott

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available in ARTS 206A on:

  • Tuesdays from 1:00 – 3:00
  • Thursdays from 1:00 – 3:00
  • Fridays from 12:00 – 2:00

mscott3@mail.csuchico.edu


Neesa Sonoquie

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available in ARTS 206A on:

  • Tuesdays from 12:00 – 3:00
  • Thursdays from 12:00 – 3:00

nsonoquie@mail.csuchico.edu


Ceaira Stuart

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available on Zoom by appointment: request tutoring services here

cstuart1@mail.csuchico.edu


Sally von Bargen

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available in ARTS 206A on:

  • Tuesdays from 12:00 – 2:00
  • Thursdays from 12:00 – 2:00
  • Fridays from 12:00 – 3:00

svonbargen1@mail.csuchico.edu


Hayden Wright

Tutor, ESL Support Services

Available in ARTS 206A on:

  • Mondays from 12:00 – 3:00
  • Wednesdays from 12:00 – 3:00

jwright67@mail.csuchico.edu