Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering and Sustainable Manufacturing

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

The Department sponsors a student chapter of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). The chapter sponsors field trips, guest speakers, and a team of students who enter the Human Powered Vehicle (HPV) Challenge.

What is ASME?

Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, today ASME is an international nonprofit educational and technical organization serving a worldwide membership of 125,000. ASME is the premier organization for promoting the art, science and practice of mechanical engineering throughout the world. It has the mission of promoting and enhancing the technical competency and professional well-being of its members, and through quality programs and activities in mechanical engineering, better enabling its practitioners to contribute to the well-being of humankind. More information can be obtained at the ASME International website(opens in new window).

ASME Officers 2019-2020

President: Justin Price
 jkprice@mail.csuchico.edu

Vice President: Jose Zamano
jzamano@mail.csuchico.edu

Treasurer: Eduardo Herrera
eherrera22@mail.csuchico.edu

Secretary: Ivan Castillo
icastillo7@mail.csuchico.edu 

Webmaster:  Chelby Polines
cpolines@mail.csuchico.edu

Faculty Advisor: Professor Alexander
DGAlexander@csuchico.edu

What is the Human Powered Vehicle Challenge?

Human Powered Vehicle Challenge

Each year, ASME International sponsors a Human Powered Vehicle competition. Teams from universities from around the country design and build high speed human powered ground vehicles and participate each spring in a multi-part competition which includes a sprint component, endurance race, and a design competition. The chapter has entered the competition annually for over twenty years. In spring 2013 the team placed first in the Endurance event. Unfortunately the team is not active at this time.

Group of Teachers and students showing off vehicle