Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering and Sustainable Manufacturing

Tau Beta Pi

TBP Logo

California Alpha Alpha is the CSU, Chico Chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society. The chapter was installed on March 2, 1996. The top 12.5% of juniors and the top 20% of seniors majoring in engineering at CSU, Chico with a Chico grade point average of 3.0 or higher are invited to become members.

What is Tau Beta Pi?

Tau Beta Pi is the only engineering honor society representing the entire engineering profession. It is the nation's second-oldest honor society, founded at Lehigh University in 1885 to recognize students of distinguished scholarship and exemplary character. There are now collegiate chapters at 225 colleges and universities, active alumnus chapters in 16 regions across the United States, and a total initiated membership of over 453,000.

National Tau Beta Pi website(opens in new window)

Chico Chapter Tau Beta Pi website(opens in new window)

Officers 2019-2020

President:  Ryan Heinz
 rheinz4@mail.csuchico.edu

Vice President: Emmily Griner
 egriner@mail.csuchico.edu

Treasurer: Ivan Alcantar
ialcantar1@mail.csuchico.edu

Corresponding Secretary: Lance Martin
lmartin30@mail.csuchico.edu

Recording Secretary: Aileen Escobell
 aescobell@mail.csuchico.edu

Faculty Advisors

Co-Advisor: Professor Alexander
DGAlexander@csuchico.edu

Co-Advisor: Professor Mustafa
 HMustafa@csuchico.edu

Student running test with equipment