Department of Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering and Advanced Manufacturing

Tau Beta Pi

TBP Logo

California Alpha Alpha is the CSU, Chico Chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society. The chapter was installed on March 2, 1996. The top 12.5% of juniors and the top 20% of seniors majoring in engineering at CSU, Chico with a Chico grade point average of 3.0 or higher are invited to become members.

What is Tau Beta Pi?

Tau Beta Pi is the only engineering honor society representing the entire engineering profession. It is the nation's second-oldest honor society, founded at Lehigh University in 1885 to recognize students of distinguished scholarship and exemplary character. There are now collegiate chapters at 225 colleges and universities, active alumnus chapters in 16 regions across the United States, and a total initiated membership of over 453,000.

National Tau Beta Pi website(opens in new window)

Chico Chapter Tau Beta Pi website(opens in new window)

Officers 2021-2022

President: Shelby Bartlett
srbartlett@mail.csuchico.edu

Vice President: Kirsten Welch
kjwelch@mail.csuchico.edu

Treasurer: Devin Mortenson
dlmortenson@mail.csuchico.edu

Corresponding Secretary: Nate Hilal
nhilal@mail.csuchico.edu

Recording Secretary: Cat DeVito
cdevito@mail.csuchico.edu

Cataloger: Alex Hernandez
ahernandez256@mail.csuchico.edu

Initiation Chair: Alex Schweizer
ayschweizer@mail.csuchico.edu

Spokesperson: Keegan Penso
kapenso@mail.csuchico.edu

Committee Chair: Kat Estrada
kgestrada@mail.csuchico.edu

Faculty Advisors

Co-Advisor: Professor Alexander
DGAlexander@csuchico.edu

Co-Advisor: Professor Mustafa
 HMustafa@csuchico.edu

Student running test with equipment