CSU, Chico News

Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award Honors Construction Management Student

Date: 08-10-2007

Joe Wills
Public Affairs

Senior Kevin Brady, a construction management major at California State University, Chico, has received a 2007-08 William R. Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement, one of the most prestigious honors a student in the CSU can receive.

The Trustees’ Award provides financial support to students who show superior academic performance, community service and personal accomplishments in the face of personal hardship and challenges.

Brady, from Grass Valley, is a 42-year-old disabled student who has overcome tremendous obstacles, including a life-threatening traffic accident in 1996, to pursue his college education. After earning three associate degrees at Sierra College, Brady transferred to CSU, Chico in 2004.

“I was completely amazed to learn I’d received this award,” he said. “I am so grateful to be recognized.”

Brady will receive a $3,000 scholarship for his upcoming senior year at CSU, Chico. He will be honored by the CSU Trustees at their meeting on Sept. 18 in Long Beach.

Since transferring to CSU, Chico, Brady has become a member of the Construction Management Honor Society and a team leader for the CSU, Chico Building Information Modeling team. Among his community service projects was helping rebuild homes in New Orleans in January 2007.

In a letter to the CSU Trustees forwarding Brady’s nomination for the award, CSU, Chico President Paul Zingg wrote, “Kevin’s letters of reference and other support documents provide a picture of a bright, energetic, and compassionate human being. His commitment to help others goes far beyond the classroom, as his work in New Orleans helping to rebuild houses for victims of Hurricane Katrina clearly demonstrates. Kevin is admired and respected by his peers as well as his professors.”

Brady is the 10th CSU, Chico student to receive the award since 1993. Previous awardees from CSU, Chico are Anna Sorenson (2006), Elizabeth Coudright (2004), Ben Seigler (2003), Dijana Fazlic (2002), Patty Cotter (2001), Aimee Webb (2000), Lynn Wirt (1996), Kelly Baylor (1995), and David Ware (1993).