CSU, Chico News

CSU, Chico Electrical Engineering Students Honored Once Again in National Design Competition

Date: 06-20-2007

Joe Wills
Public Affairs

A team of three California State University, Chico engineering students has come in second place in a national design competition hosted by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), one of the world’s largest professional associations in the area of technology.

CSU, Chico students won the competition last year, and it is the fourth time in the eight-year history of the event that CSU, Chico has won an award. Adel Ghandakly, chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, said CSU, Chico is the only university in the world to be a repeat prize winner in the competition.

Past winners in the competition include the University of Tennessee, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal, Florida Atlantic University and North Dakota State University.

The Student Electromagnetic Compatibility Design Competition asks entrants to develop a solution to an electromagnetic interference problem while not affecting the functionality of an electronic circuit. Reducing interference in electrical devices without losing functionality is a critical challenge in electrical engineering.

CSU, Chico graduate students Sourabh Bhalerao and Chris Solis and senior Robert Powelson collaborated on the competition entry and learned they had placed second in the competition earlier this month. All three will be returning as CSU, Chico graduate students this fall.

The award will be presented to the team at an IEEE conference to be held in Honolulu July 8-13. Along with attending the awards banquet, the team will give a presentation of their design report at an exhibit during the Electromagnetic Compatibility Symposium.

The IEEE will cover the team’s travel and lodging expenses as part of the honor for coming in second in the competition.

The IEEE has more than 370,000 members, including more than 80,000 students, in over 160 countries. It was formed in 1963 with the merger of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Radio Engineers.