CSU, Chico News

Chico Performances Heads Retired Faculty Agenda

Date: 08-26-2010

Kathleen McPartland
Public Affairs
Bob Pentzer
Retired Faculty Association

The inaugural 2010-2011 meeting of the California State University, Chico Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association will be Thursday, Sept. 9 and will include an overview of this year’s campus visiting performing artists by Dan DeWayne, director of Chico Performances. It will be at 12:30 p.m. at Original Pete’s restaurant with a lunch at 1 p.m. There is no luncheon charge for ERFA members.

Other fall activities include a “state of the campus” presentation on Oct. 15 by University President Paul Zingg and ERFA’s annual holiday season reception on Dec. 10.

ERFA’s second annual Hall of Honor recognizing outstanding former faculty will be in the spring. Last year’s honorees were Allan Forbes, W.H. Hutchinson, Paul Kinney, David Lantis, Betty Lou Raker, Valene Smith and Wes Dempsey.

ERFA president Fred Brooks expects a like number of honorees next year and said ERFA is especially anxious to include Chico State alumni in the nomination process. A committee headed by Ralph Meuter will make final selections.

Helping Brooks this year as ERFA leaders are Hugh Campbell, Yolanda Holt, Bob Pentzer, Leo Kirchhoff, Ralph Huntsinger, Abe Baily, Jim Gregg, Dave Wilkinson, Meuter, Jim Roberts, Paul Moore and Ken Edson.

For more information, call Pentzer at (530) 893-0507.