CSU, Chico News

Faculty Honored for Scholarship, Grants and Other Achievements

Date: 03-04-2011

Kathleen McPartland
Public Affairs

Four faculty members at California State University, Chico have been selected by the Faculty Recognition and Support Committee to receive Professional Achievement Honors. These 2010–2011 PAH awards recognize faculty who have excelled as teacher/scholars during the past three years.

The faculty members are Keiko Goto, Department of Nutrition and Food Sciences; Curt Haselton, Department of Civil Engineering; Michael Perelman, Department of Economics; and Aaron Quinn, Department of Journalism. Their accomplishments include published books and papers, grant projects and national and international honors.

Keiko Goto
Professor Goto is the principal investigator for a $149,970 research grant in increasing the use of locally grown produce in immigrant families. The grant is funded by the Agricultural and Food Research Initiative. In the last several years, she has published 10 original research papers in peer-reviewed journals, including the Journal of Education and Behavior, the leading journal for nutrition educators in the United States. Many of these papers were the result of her research collaborations with graduate and undergraduate students in the Department of Nutrition and Food Sciences. She has written two book chapters based on her work experience as a nutrition and health educator in Jamaica and Indonesia. Goto currently serves as the chair-elect of the Higher Education Division for the Society of Nutrition Education.

Curt Haselton
Professor Haselton, Department of Civil Engineering, has received research funding from the National Science Foundation, the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Building Seismic Safety Council of the National Institute of Building Sciences. His research in the area of structural earthquake engineering has led to important advances in the ability to directly model the collapse of buildings shaken by earthquakes. Haselton’s research was nationally recognized with the receipt of the Engineering Excellence Honor Award for his FEMA P-695 project. He currently serves as chair of the Department of Civil Engineering.

Michael Perelman
Professor Perelman, Department of Economics, received an international award for Outstanding Achievement in Political Economy of the 21st Century from the World Association for Political Economy. This award was given to eight internationally recognized recipients. Perelman was one of only three recipients from the United States. Perelman’s work has been translated into Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Serbian and Japanese. He has been a visiting scholar at the University of Paris and at Stanford University. He has authored dozens of journal articles and 19 books. Since 2007, Perelman has published 18 articles and given more than 33 professional talks. His most recent book is “The Confiscation of American Prosperity: From Right-Wing Extremism and Economic Ideology to the Next Great Depression.” He is currently working on a book, “The Invisible Handcuffs of Capitalism: How Market Control Undermines the Economy by Stunting Workers,” under contract with Stanford University Press.

Aaron Quinn
Professor Quinn, Department of Journalism, has established a national and international reputation as a scholar in media ethics. Professor Quinn has used his research experience to carry out consultancy projects in media ethics, developing a conflict of interest policy and ethics code for Northstate Public Radio. He successfully secured grant funding for research that led to peer-review publications and secured a grant from CELT to outfit the department’s new Advanced Photojournalism course with high-definition cameras and audio equipment. Quinn is currently collaborating with scholars from Australia and the Netherlands to secure external grant funding that could lead to the development of online accountability systems for news organizations. Quinn has also presented research and student multimedia projects for CSU, Chico’s Center for Applied and Professional Ethics.

President Paul Zingg and Vice Provost for Research Katie Milo presented the PAH awards at a celebration in February. Milo oversees the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, which assists faculty in researching, writing and administering grants.