CSU, Chico News

Retired Faculty and Staff to be Honored at Luncheon

Date: 04-21-2011

Joe Wills
Public Affairs
Bob Pentzer
Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association

To honor outstanding contributions to the University and community, the Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association will recognize six retired faculty and six retired staff of California State University, Chico at a special luncheon Thursday, May 12, at Manzanita Place.

The second annual Hall of Honor event starts at 11:45 a.m. Tickets for the luncheon are $25 and can be purchased from Kathy Fiscus in the Provost's Office, 898-6101.

Retired faculty chosen for the Hall of Honor are James Gregg (political science and journalism), David Kistner (biological sciences), Michelle Shover (political science), Royd Weintraub (Instructional Media Center), and, posthumously, Harlen Adams (speech and drama) and Janet Turner (art).

Retired staff chosen for the Hall of Honor are Caroline Aldrich-Langen, Gayle Boyer, Sharon Salcido, Garry Small, Elizabeth Stolp and Eunice Toussaint. This is the first year that retired staff members will be honored at the event.

Last year's inductees were Wes Dempsey (biological sciences), Allan Forbes (speech and drama), Paul Kinney (business), Valene Smith (anthropology), and, posthumously, W.H. (Hutch) Hutchinson (history), David Lantis (geography) and Betty Lou Raker (physical education).

Honorees are chosen for contributions to the campus and community over many years.