CSU, Chico News

CSU, Chico Student Receives Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award

Date: 09-05-2012

Kathleen McPartland
Public Affairs

The California State University (CSU) announced the 2012 recipients of the William Randolph Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement. California State University, Chico student Maija Glasier-Lawson received one of the 23 awards. In addition, she received one of six additional awards, the Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar.

The awards are given each year to those students who demonstrate superior academic performance, personal accomplishment, community service and financial need. Each of the award recipients receives a $3,000 scholarship. Glasier-Lawson also received $3,000 with the Galinson Scholar award.

Maija Glasier-Lawson is a graduate student in anthropology. When she was 18, Glasier-Lawson was diagnosed with a disease that results in chronic pain and fatigue. Despite this illness, she completed a bachelor’s degree in anthropology at CSU, Chico and has been heavily engaged in community activities, both as an undergraduate and now as a graduate student.

In the last 18 months, Glasier-Lawson has contributed more than 1,000 hours in volunteer work. She worked with CSU, Chico’s Outdoor Classroom, developing and implementing archaeology modules for local third and fourth graders. She has been an active member of the Anthropology Graduate Student Association and Council of Graduate Students, and she has facilitated numerous events on campus. Last year she was the graduate coordinator of the 26th annual California Indian Conference.

After obtaining her master’s degree, Glasier-Lawson plans to pursue her PhD so that she can start a public archaeology center in Northern California. She wants to make anthropology more accessible to the public and to teach children about cultural awareness and environmental stewardship through archaeology.

The Hearst/CSU Trustees' award is among the highest forms of recognition for student achievement in the CSU. The CSU Board of Trustees will honor the scholars on Sept. 18 at the CSU Office of the Chancellor in Long Beach, Calif.

The previous awardees from CSU, Chico are Ashley Marie Cosgrove (2011), Jillian Ruddell (2010), Ger Thao (2009), Marycarmen Rosales (2008), Kevin Brady (2007), Anna Sorensen (2006), Elizabeth Coudright (2004), Ben Seigler (2003), Diana Fazlic (2002), Patty Cotter (2001), Aimee Webb (2000), Lynn Wirt (1996), Kelly Baylor (1995) and David Ware (1993).