CSU, Chico News

Retired Faculty and Staff to Be Honored at Hall of Honor Luncheon

Date: 05-09-2012

Joe Wills
Public Affairs
Pat Kopp
Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association

The third annual Retired Faculty and Staff Hall of Honor event will be held Thursday, May 17, to pay tribute to outstanding contributions to California State University, Chico and the Chico community.

This special luncheon and recognition ceremony will take place at 11 a.m. at Manzanita Place, the Elks Lodge. Tickets for this year’s event may be purchased from the Office of the Provost. Call 530-898-6101 for tickets or more information.

The CSU, Chico Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association hosts the event and chooses the honorees for their contributions to the campus and community over many years.

This year’s six retired faculty honorees are:

Dr. Ralph Meuter, 1970 – 2000, professor, Department of Geography, dean of Regional and Continuing Education and associate vice president of Academic Affairs.

Dr. Fred A. Brooks, 1976 – 2000, professor and chairman of the Department of Recreation and Parks Administration, developed more than 100 master plans for parks and recreation facilities of Northern California agencies.

George Keithley, 1962 – 1997, professor, Department of English, nationally renowned and widely published poet and author whose works have been made by others into stage plays and opera.

Ira P. Latour, 1968 – 1998, professor, Department of Art and Art History, responsible for establishing the slide and photo library and archive for classroom use in the department and throughout the University.

Dr. John Sutthoff, 1960 – 1990, professor, Department of Journalism, served as executive assistant to campus presidents Glenn Kendall, Robert Hill and Stanford Cazier, and with fellow faculty members Garrett Starmer and George Rogers secured the licenses for both KIXE TV and KCHO radio.

Dr. Edward Bronson, 1969 – 2000, professor, Department of Political Science, founded the Public Law program of the Department of Political Science, the Criminal Justice program, Paralegal Certificate, Pre-Law Society and Student Law Union of Minorities.

This year’s six retired staff honorees are:

Abraham “Abe” Baily, 1969 – 2001, dean of Student Affairs, director of EOP Program, director of School Relations, director of University Outreach Program and Athletic Student Affairs development director and marketing director.

Harold W. “Hal” Bramsen, 1949 – 1968, was the first Business manager at Chico State where he served for 19 years; did long range planning, budgeting and contracts; also managed the Business Office, Accounts Payable, University Police, and the Payroll, Personnel and housing offices.

Dr. Kenneth “Ken” C. Edson, 1967 – 1997, director of Admissions and Records for 18 years, Student Personnel associate dean of students, and director of Testing and Research.

Ann Pyeatt, 1970 – 2008, served as administrative analyst/specialist for College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Construction Management and was the first clerical assistant for computer Sciences Department.

Dr. G. Robert “Bob” Standing, 1965 – 1996, started as associate dean of students, administering Housing and Student Activities Programs, then became director of Advising and Orientation, where he initiated the Academic Advising services at CSU, Chico.

Karl J. Wahl, 1948 – 1983, worked in the Business Office as accounting manager, Student Housing manager (Vets’ Village) and the director of Facilities Planning from 1966 until his retirement; returned as a part-time consultant to the vice president of Administration for two years.