CSU, Chico News

Model United Nations Team Captures Top Regional Award

Date: 12-09-2014

Sarah Langford
Public Affairs
John Crosby, professor
Department of Political Science

Students participating in the Model United Nations (MUN) course at California State University, Chico brought home the top award from the Northwest MUN Conference Nov. 21-23 in Seattle, Washington.

The team of 35 students received the Outstanding Delegation award from the conference. The three-day event, the largest collegiate simulation of the United Nations in the northwestern United States, gathered more than 450 delegates from 20 college and universities to research, negotiate and debate global policy issues. In addition to receiving the event’s top award, the students received nine out of 34 possible individual awards.

“Chico students are amazing,” said Professor John Crosby, who serves as an adviser to the team and teaches the MUN political science course that prepares students to compete. “For every one recognized by the conference staff, there were several unrecognized who put forth extraordinary effort to continue the stellar reputation of Chico State at these events.”

Each of the 35 students was assigned a country to represent within six specific committees: the General Assembly (GA), the World Health Organization (WHO), the Human Rights Council (HRC), World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), Reformed Security Council and the Security Council. Students were also assigned several topics to research for their assigned country and committee, ranging from “Promotion of New and Renewable Sources of Energy” to “Women and Peace and Security.”

CSU, Chico students represented France, Pakistan, Israel, Mexico, Sierra Leone, Chad, Mozambique, North Korea, Lesotho and Antigua-Barbuda.

Five students received position paper awards for their pre-conference research: Peter Denyer, Scott Greenberg, Stasha Malcolm, Lauren Miller and Kate Scarratt.

In addition, three students received individual awards for their performance and representation of policy at the conference. Jaydeep Bhatia received an outstanding delegate award for his representation of Mexico in the WHO, and Tayla Hewitt and Nicole Nicolai received distinguished delegate awards for their representation of France in the GA and Mexico in the HRC, respectively. In the fiercely contested Security Council, CSU, Chico students took two of the three awards available, and an outstanding delegate award went to Karl Pfeifer, who represented France.

MUN is a demanding program in which students must demonstrate skills in public speaking, in-depth research, negotiation and leadership, and produce a concisely written position paper. During the conference, student delegates must prepare and cooperate with delegates from other schools representing different countries to produce a series of realistic U.N. resolutions.

CSU, Chico’s MUN team is taught and run entirely by student officers elected from the previous year’s class. The student officers are the heart of the program and the reason for CSU, Chico’s continual success. This year’s officers are Nigel Bocanegra-Speed, head delegate; Kady Hammer, secretary general; and Joe Aceret, Mallorie Hayes, Kristina Houchin, and Aaron Thao.

The regional conference in Seattle prepares students to participate in the largest and most prestigious MUN conference in the world: the National MUN, held each spring in New York City. In March 2015, 32 CSU, Chico students will join more than 5,000 university students from around the world at the national conference to discuss issues at the forefront of international relations.

CSU, Chico’s MUN program is funded by the Instructionally Related Activities fee program and with contributions from the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences and student fundraising activities.

Learn more about the MUN program here, or contact Crosby at jcrosby5@csuchico.edu.