CSU, Chico News

Wildlife Group Gives Professor Distinguished Service Award

Date: 11-05-2015

Joe Wills
Public Affairs

Professor Jon Hooper, Department of Recreation, Hospitality, and Parks Management, has been awarded the Distinguished Service Award by The Wildlife Society.

The award was given “In recognition of long-term commitment to furthering the mission of The Wildlife Society through exemplary service and membership longevity.”

Hooper received the award at the organization’s national conference Oct. 20 in Winnipeg, Canada.

Founded in 1937, The Wildlife Society’s mission is “to inspire, empower, and enable wildlife professionals to sustain wildlife populations and habitats through science-based management and conservation.”

Hooper was selected for the award by The Wildlife Society’s Western Section, which he has contributed his services to for more than 40 years. The section geographically represents California, Nevada, Hawaii and Guam.

Over the years, Hooper has given numerous presentations at annual Western Section meetings and published research articles with The Wildlife Society on topics such as Californian’s attitudes toward fish and wildlife, animal activist leaders’ views of wildlife management, continuing education needs of wildlife biologists and teacher adoption of wildlife education.

“I am deeply honored that fellow wildlife biologists consider my contributions to be of value to the wildlife profession,” Hooper said.

In 2001, Hooper was given the Raymond F. Dasmann Award for “Professional of the Year” by the Western Section. This award is given to a wildlife professional who has made an outstanding contribution to wildlife resources management and understanding.

Hooper initially joined The Wildlife Society as a member of the Colorado State University student chapter in 1971. In 1973, he joined the Western Section. The national office of The Wildlife Society named Hooper a “Certified Wildlife Biologist” in 1979, shortly after he joined the faculty at California State University, Chico in 1978.