COVID-19
View the latest updates and emergency notifications on the COVID-19 News & Information website.
Nutrition and Food Science

Advising


Important Dates to Remember

Spring 2020

  • Spring Break: March 16-20, 2020
  • César Chávez Day: March 31, 2020
  • Continuing student registration begins for Fall 2020: April 20, 2020
  • Finals week: May 11-15, 2020

Fall 2020

  • Classes begin: August 24, 2020
  • Labor Day: September 7, 2020 
  • Veterans Day: November 11, 2020
  • Fall Break: November 23-27, 2020
  • Finals week: December 14-18, 2020

Major Advisors Sorted By Career Interests

The Department of Nutrition and Food Science believes academic advising should be linked with your career aspirations. Career advisors are organized as follows:

New to the Major? Unsure of Your Career Goals?

Dr. Michelle Morris

MRMorris@csuchico.edu
530-898-6163
Holt 355

Office Hours:

  • W 2-4 p.m.

Pre-Dietetics

Dr. Katie Silliman
ksilliman@csuchico.edu
530-898-6245
Holt 324

Last Name: A-H

Office Hours:

  • M 1-3 p.m.
  • T 10 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • W 11 a.m.-12 p.m. 
    contact me for Zoom link

Ms. Lauren McNamara
lmmcnamara@csuchico.edu
530-898-6264
Holt 326

Last Name: I-R

Office Hours:

  • M 10-11 a.m.
  • R 1-2 p.m.

Stephanie Bianco
sbianco@csuchico.edu
Holt 334

Last Name: S-Z

Office Hours:

  • W 9-11 a. m. and by appointment

General Dietetics

Dr. Lauren Housley
lhousley@csuchico.edu
530-898-4762
Holt 314

Office Hours:

  • T 10 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • R 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment

School Foodservice or Certified Dietary Manager

Dr. Joan Giampaoli
jgiampaoli@csuchico.edu
530-898-6410
Holt 369

Office Hours:

  • T 10 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • F 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment

Nutrition Education, Lactation Education, or Sports Nutrition

Dr. Julie Holland
jmholland@csuchico.edu
530-898-6567
Holt 322

Office Hours:

  • T 8-11 a.m. 
  • W 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Food Science, Agriculture, Marketing, Sustainability, or Media and Writing

Dr. Maria Giovanni
mgiovanni@csuchico.edu
530-898-4023
Holt 336

Office Hours:

  • M 3:30-5:30 p.m.
  • R 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. and by appointment

Public Health or International Nutrition

Dr. Seth Klobodu
ssklobodu@csuchico.edu
530-898-6163
Holt 332

Office Hours:

  • M 2-4 p.m.
  • F 2-3 p.m. and by appointment

Allied Health Career Such as Nursing, Physician Assistant, etc.

Dr. Katie Silliman
ksilliman@csuchico.edu
530-898-6245
Holt 324

Office Hours:

  • M 1-3 p.m.
  • T 10 a.m.-12 p.m. 
  • W 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment

Advising for Related Programs

Masters in Nutritional Science

Dr. Keiko Goto 
kgoto@csuchico.edu
530-898-6767
Holt 328

Office Hours:

  • W 9:45-10:45 a.m.
  • R 9 a.m.-12 p.m. or by appointment

Minor in Food Science

Dr. Maria Giovanni
mgiovanni@csuchico.edu
530-898-4023
Holt 336

Office Hours:

  • M 3:30-5:30 p.m.
  • R 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. and by appointment

Minor in Food Service Administration

Dr. Joan Giampaoli
jgiampaoli@csuchico.edu
530-898-6410
Holt 369

Office Hours:

  • T 10 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • F 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment

Minor in Nutrition

Dr. Katie Silliman
ksilliman@csuchico.edu
530-898-6245
Holt 324

Office Hours:

  • M 1-3 p.m.
  • T 10 a.m.-12 p.m. 
  • W 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment