COVID-19

View the latest updates on the COVID-19 News & Information website.
Nutrition and Food Science

Advising


Important Dates to Remember

Spring 2020

  • Spring Break: March 16-20, 2020
  • César Chávez Day: March 31, 2020
  • Continuing student registration begins for Fall 2020: April 20, 2020
  • Finals week: May 11-15, 2020

Fall 2020

  • Classes begin: August 24, 2020
  • Labor Day: September 7, 2020 
  • Veterans Day: November 11, 2020
  • Fall Break: November 23-27, 2020
  • Finals week: December 14-18, 2020

Major Advisors Sorted By Career Interests

The Department of Nutrition and Food Science believes academic advising should be linked with your career aspirations. Career advisors are organized as follows:

New to the Major? Unsure of Your Career Goals?

Dr. Seth Klobodu

ssklobodu@csuchico.edu
530-898-6163
Holt 332

Office Hours:

  • M 11-2 p.m.
  • W 2-3 p.m.

Registered Dietitian Nutritionist

Dr. Katie Silliman
ksilliman@csuchico.edu
530-898-6245
Holt 324

Last Name: A-H

Office Hours:

  • M 2-3 p.m.
  • T 1-3 p.m.
  • W 10:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m. or by appointment 

Dr. Michelle Morris
mrmorris@csuchico.edu
530-898-4757
Holt 355

Last Name: I-R

Office Hours:

  • M 3-5 p.m. or by appointment

Stephanie Bianco
sbianco@csuchico.edu
530-898-4759
Holt 334

Last Name: S-Z

Office Hours:

  • T 3:15-4:45 p.m. or by appointment

School Foodservice or Certified Dietary Manager

Dr. Joan Giampaoli
jgiampaoli@csuchico.edu
530-898-6410
Holt 369

Office Hours:

  • TR 9-10:30 a.m.
  • F 10 a.m.-12 p.m. or by appointment

Nutrition Education, Lactation Education, or Sports Nutrition

Dr. Julie Holland
jmholland@csuchico.edu
530-898-6567
Holt 322

Office Hours:

  • M 5-6 p.m. 
  • W 8-11 a.m.
  • F 12-1 p.m.

Food Science, Agriculture, Marketing, Sustainability, or Media and Writing

Dr. Maria Giovanni
mgiovanni@csuchico.edu
530-898-4023
Holt 336

Office Hours:

  • M 9:15-11:15 a.m.
  • T 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. or by appointment

Public Health or International Nutrition

Dr. Seth Klobodu
ssklobodu@csuchico.edu
530-898-6163
Holt 332

Office Hours:

  • M 11-2 p.m.
  • W 2-3 p.m. or by appointment

Allied Health Career Such as Nursing, Physician Assistant, etc.

Dr. Katie Silliman
ksilliman@csuchico.edu
530-898-6245
Holt 324

Office Hours:

  • M 2-3 p.m.
  • T 1-3 p.m. 
  • W 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. or by appointment

Advising for Related Programs

Masters in Nutritional Science

Dr. Keiko Goto 
kgoto@csuchico.edu
530-898-6767
Holt 328

Office Hours:

  • MW 2-2:45 p.m.
  • T 9-11:30 a.m. or by appointment

Minor in Food Science

Dr. Maria Giovanni
mgiovanni@csuchico.edu
530-898-4023
Holt 336

Office Hours:

  • M 9:15-11:15 a.m.
  • T 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. or by appointment

Minor in Food Service Administration

Dr. Joan Giampaoli
jgiampaoli@csuchico.edu
530-898-6410
Holt 367

Office Hours:

  • TR 9-10:30 a.m.
  • F 10 a.m.-12 p.m. or by appointment

Minor in Nutrition

Dr. Katie Silliman
ksilliman@csuchico.edu
530-898-6245
Holt 324

Office Hours:

  • M 2-3 p.m.
  • T 1-3 p.m. 
  • W 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. or by appointment