Political Science and Criminal Justice

Student Alumni Highlights

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 Charles M. Price Sacramento Internship Award, Marina Servantez, Logan Wolverton, Amber Moran, Ashira Solomon, and John Hanna

Congratulations to the following Political Science and Criminal Justice students inducted in to Phi Kappa Phi: Ginger Alonso, Ashely Clarisse Cocklin, Rafael Sampiano Cook, Juliette David, Henry Ramos, Kalli Jobe Rodenbaugh, Caroline Shulz, and Sidney Wills. Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Pi recognizes and promotes excellence in all fields of higher education. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors. 

On May 11, 2017, Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society welcomed a class of 29 inductees this year!  Professor Eileen Morris delivered the keynote speech – a retrospective on the Upsilon Delta chapter’s founding. Pi Sigma Alpha is the national Political Science Honor Society. 2017 inductees included: Rachel Ballard, Ariana Baumann, Heather Brockman, Jerred brown, Jessica Gallaway, Cornelia Guthrie, Kaitlin Krause, Leticia Ramirez, Katie Ray, Ryan Todd, Logan Wolverton, Casey Parks, Yoseline Alvarez, Aurea Bolanos Perea, Grason Boyer, Riley Champan, Ashley Cocklin, Juliet David, Arijena Martinez-Harris, Hannah Mills-Fragione, Alison Polulech, Janet Sanchez, Becky White, Destiny Ziemann, Makayla Chacon, and Kevin GuzmanMichael Pratt is the incoming President of Pi Sigma Alpha. 

Jaydeep Bhatia (’16 MA Political Science, backrow third from left) was selected as a 2016-17 Capital Fellow. Fellows work for 10-11 months as staff members in the California State Assembly, gaining priceless experience in policy making, program development and program implementation. 

capital Fellows program

(Photo Credit to the Capital Fellows Program)

From left, Nick Babaian, Dance Cameron and Nisael Guzman

From left, Nick Babaian, Dance Cameron and Nisael Guzman

Nick Babian and Nisael Guzman took home the top award at the 2017 Moot Court Competition. Congratulations to Nick and Nisael, and to all student participants. 

In April, Political Science Alumnae Malalka Fraley (’99), along with two other Chico State alumni, Rick Hurd (Journalism ’92) and Katrina Cameron (Journalism ’14) won a Pulitzer Prize for their reporting of the tragic Ghost Ship fire in Oakland, for the East Bay Times.  Congratulations Malalka! 

Political Statements is the official newsletter of the Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice at California State University, Chico.

With over 1,000 total majors, the Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice is one of the largest departments at Chico State. Students choose courses from a rich curriculum, providing close student-faculty contact in each of the following majors of study: U.S. politics, legal studies, criminal justice, international relations, and public administration. The department also offers a Master of Public Administration and a Master of Arts in Political Science.

In This Issue

Current Issue

Archived Issues