Office of the President

Jan 30, 2017 - CSU Statement on President Trump's Executive Order

The California State University is committed to being an inclusive and welcoming institution of higher education that is enhanced by the students, faculty, staff and alumni from our global community.
We are deeply troubled by President Trump’s recent executive order that stands in stark contrast to the fundamental tenets of the California State University. We believe in the free exchange of ideas globally, central to which is our ability to welcome and interact with those from around the world.
When something threatens our ability to think beyond our borders and learn from the world as a whole, we will oppose it. When something impacts anyone in our CSU community – especially the most vulnerable – it impacts us all.

Therefore, we oppose the divisiveness of the recent executive order, and we stand with state and national officials in requesting that the President reconsider this policy.

Timothy P. White
Chancellor, California State University
David Lopez
President, California State Student Association
Christine Miller
Chair, Academic Senate of the California State University
Jeffrey D. Armstrong
President, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Erika D. Beck
President, CSU Channel Islands
Joseph I. Castro
President, Fresno State University
Soraya M. Coley
President, Cal Poly Pomona
Jane Close Conoley
President, CSU Long Beach
William A. Covino
President, Cal State Los Angeles
Thomas A. Cropper
President, CSU Maritime Academy
Mildred García
President, CSU Fullerton
Willie J. Hagan
President, CSU Dominguez Hills
Dianne F. Harrison
President, CSU Northridge
Karen S. Haynes
President, CSU San Marcos
Elliot Hirshman
President, San Diego State University
Gayle E. Hutchinson
President, CSU Chico
Ellen N. Junn
President, CSU Stanislaus
Horace Mitchell
President, CSU Bakersfield
Tomás D. Morales
President, CSU San Bernardino
Leroy M. Morishita
President, CSU East Bay
Robert S. Nelsen
President, Sacramento State University
Eduardo M. Ochoa
President, CSU Monterey Bay
Mary A. Papazian
President, San José State University
Lisa A. Rossbacher
President, Humboldt State University
Judy K. Sakaki
President, Sonoma State University
Leslie E. Wong
President, San Francisco State University