Office of the President

Presidential Search

The California State University Board of Trustees is launching a nationwide search for the next president of Chico State.

Following CSU policy, the Chair of the CSU Trustees, Wenda Fong, has appointed a Trustees Committee for the Selection of the President. An Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus' constituency groups per their selection criteria. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus—both selected by the chancellor in consultation with the Board Chair. Both committees function as one unified group in the search process.

Presidential Search Open Forum

Members of the campus and surrounding communities participated in a hybrid open forum with the Trustees Committee for the Selection of the President in person and virtually via live stream on  Thursday, February 2 from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the BMU Auditorium. The purpose of the open forum was for the Committee to hear about the qualities and experiences needed by the next president of Chico State. Viewers also learned more about the process of the presidential search. This is the only presidential committee meeting that will be open to the public.

Stakeholder Survey

Chico creekShare your input to help craft the presidential leadership profile and advertisement that will be used to attract the most appealing candidates in the market. These surveys (offered in English and Spanish) will close on February 7. To provide comments after February 7, please email

Presidential Search Stakeholder Survey(opens in new window)Presidential Search Stakeholder Survey - Español(opens in new window)

Questions, Comments and Nominations

To submit your questions, comments and nominations, please email

Presidential Search Committee

Committee Members
Jolene KoesterInterim Chancellor
Wenda FongChair, Board of Trustees
Lillian KimbellTrustee and Chair, Search Committee
Doug FaiginTrustee
Yammilette RodriguezTrustee
Jose Antonio VargasTrustee
Adela de la TorreSan Diego State, CSU President Representative
Monique SendzeVice President for Information Technology, Administration Representative
Marianne PaivaChair, Academic Senate
Holly NevarezFaculty Representative
Jaime Raigoza Faculty Representative
Tasha AlexanderStaff Representative
Krystal AlvarezStudent Representative
Mujtaba AzamStudent Representative
Darryl SchoenAlumni Representative
David HodsonUniversity Foundation Board Representative
Matthews JacksonCommunity Representative
Dennis RamirezCommunity Representative