School of the Arts

Mid-Century Modern, Vol. 2

Concert Spotlights Dance, Jazz, and Chamber Music from the Mid-20th Century

Band performing

CSU, Chico’s School of the Arts presents the chamber music recital Mid Century Modern, Vol. 2, held Sunday, Feb. 10 at 2 p.m. in Zingg Recital Hall. Tickets are available at the University Box Office, 530-898-6333; Chico State Department of Music and Theatre (MUTA) students may acquire a free ticket at the MUTA office.

Mid-Century Modern, Vol. 2 features music of the mid-20th century. This time period includes genres such as modern classical, ragtime, blues, jazz, big bands, etc. It was a time of exploration in music, with new innovations of music forms, sounds, and styles. The concert will feature music particularly by composers Schulhoff, Muczynsky, Casella, and Martinu.

Schulhoff (1894-1942) was a Czech composer and winner of the Felix Mendelssohn Prize. Schulhoff wrote jazz compositions and was one of the first composers to recognize the potential of different forms of dance music. Muczynsky (1929-2010) was an American neo-Classical composer whose pieces were clear, concise, and simple rather than grandiose. Pianist, conductor, and composer Casella (1883-1947) used his Italian heritage to influence the contemporary music he made. In 1917, he founded the Società Nazionale, now the Italian section of the International Society for New Music. Czech composer Martinu (1890-1959) created versatile modern classical works including symphonies, operas, ballets, and chamber.

Russell Burnham, director of the Florestan Society, which is co-presenting the event, described the music in this recital as “jazz- and dance-oriented.”

Towne Quartet
The Towne Quartet

The Florestan Society Foundation promotes the art of music through live performance. It was founded by Burnham, along with other local music patrons, in order to bring highly qualified musicians and music programs to the area. The Romantic period composer Robert Schumann is the inspiration for the foundation. 

“Florestan was one of Robert Schumann’s alter egos, a fiery romantic who constantly battled complacency in the arts,” said Burnham.

Members of the Towne Quartet—a group brought together by their shared love for chamber music in 2011 in Oakland, featuring violinists Mia Bella D’Augelli and Corey Mike, violist Jacob Hansen-Joseph and cellist Lewis Patzner—and MUTA faculty members will be performing the composers’ music at the concert.

Tickets for the concert are priced at $20 and are available to purchase at CSU, Chico’s University Box Office, 530-898-6333. MUTA students are able to attend the concert for free by acquiring a ticket from the MUTA office.

Zingg Recital Hall is located on the first floor of the ARTS building. For those who need special seating accommodations, please call 530-898-6333. More information is available online at the School of the Arts websiteand Facebook page.


Story by Shelby Casey, School of the Arts publicity assistant