COVID-19
View plans for in-person Commencement and fall 2021 on ourCOVID-19 News & Information website.
Sociology

When you begin here, you can go anywhere.

Temporary Virtual Services

Although the physical office for the Department of Sociology will be closed until further notice, we are still here to assist you using digital formats. Advisors, office support, and campus support programs are still available to assist students.

Distance Education Program Academic Advisor: Lauren Wilson
Email: lswilson@csuchico.edu
Make an Appointment with Lauren(opens in new window)

Distance Education Program Academic Advising Intern: Michell Armeanu
Email: mlarmeanu@csuchico.edu
Make an Appointment with Michell(opens in new window)

Danielle Hidalgo: On-Campus Academic Advisor
Email: dahidalgo@csuchico.edu
Make an Appointment with Danielle(opens in new window)

Falantina Frashoo: On-Campus Academic Advising Intern
Email: frashoo@csuchico.edu
Make an Appointment with Falantina(opens in new window)

Faculty Communication:
For specific questions about Spring 21 classes, reach out directly to the instructor, Sociology Directory(opens in new window).

Department of Sociology Contacts:
Office Coordinator: Kathy Vargas, kpvargas@csuchico.edu
Department Chair: Dr. Tony Waters, twaters@csuchico.edu
College Administrative Analyst: Stephanie Rose, sdrose@csuchico.edu
College Dean: Dr. Eddie Vela, evela@csuchico.edu

Welcome to the Department of Sociology. You are invited to browse our site to learn about the department, our sociology course offerings, information about our dynamic faculty members, and career planning for students.

We take great pride in our department and in our ability to integrate theoretical and practical knowledge. Our majors and minors develop skills that prepare students to work in the fields of law, community advocacy, public & health services, teaching, business, and in college settings.

What is Sociology?

Sociology is the study of group life. As a social science, it combines scientific and humanistic perspectives in the study of topics such as gender, crime, family patterns, race and ethnicity, wealth and inequality, and the environment.

Sociology is a liberal art's major for students planning careers in areas such as social research, social welfare, business, public administration, and education. It provides a useful background for those planning further education in the social sciences, social work, public administration, law, or business.

Courses, Schedule, & Program Info

SOCI in the University Catalog


CSU, Chico Class Schedule

Regional & Continuing Education (RCE) - Sociology Online Degree Completion Program

Announcements

Watch this video for information about applying to Grad School!