Staff Council

Who We Are

words of what staff council means to staff council members


Staff Council membership (PDF) is comprised of selected members from nineteen designated geographic areas on campus, plus seven ex-officio members.

  • Each geographical area is served by at least one Staff Council member who is a non-academic employee of CSU, Chico, the Associated Students or Research Foundation and employed at least half-time or greater.  
  • Members sit on one of four standing committees, performing the duties of each as described in the Bylaws: Ways and Means, Service Projects, Staff Recognition, and Governance.
  • Staff Council Leadership is elected yearly from within the Council membership.
  • The group of Ex-officio members (PDF) can include a retired staff representative. A call for interested participants is placed each spring to serve the following academic year.

2022-2023 Staff Council Executive Committee

Chair:  Tawnie Peterson
Vice Chair: Tami Adams
Secretary:  Kristen Carlos
Treasurer:  Dawn Carlson-Zepeda
Governance Chair: Melissa Cheatham
Service Projects Chair: Andrea Walters
Service Projects Co-Chair:  Jana McQueen
Staff Recognition Chair: Jessica Daly
Staff Recognition Co-Chair: Jaime Nelson
Ways & Means Committee Chair:  Rachelle Sousa
Ways & Means Co-Chair:  Vicky Junco
Staff Council Office Manager:  Jessie Raeder


General Council meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month, September through June, from 8:30-10 a.m. Guest speakers are invited to encourage information exchange regarding budget, shared governance, or a variety of projects and programs on campus. The general meeting is then adjourned to standing committee meetings from 10-10:30 a.m.

Constitution and Bylaws

Considered our working documents, the Staff Council Constitution (PDF) and Bylaws(opens in new window) provide the framework and structure for the organization.