COVID-19
View the latest updates and emergency notifications on the COVID-19 News & Information website.
Office of Tribal Relations

Native American Staff & Faculty Association

Purpose

By disrupting settler-colonial constructs at California State University, Chico, the Native American staff and faculty association provides space and place for self-identified Native American staff and faculty to build community. The association aims to provide a collective impact on issues that concern strategic planning and sense of belongingness for Native American staff and faculty at the university. 

Vision

The Native American staff and faculty association will elevate visibility and participation of Native American staff and faculty at the university. Through engaged and meaningful conversations and structures of support, the association will help with; 

  • Recruitment and retention of Native American staff and faculty
  • Visibility
  • Curriculum input and inclusivity 
  • Collective voice
NASFA Officers & Members
PositionNameTribal AffiliationContactTitle
OfficerRachel Praetorius-McBrideYurokrmcbride@csuchico.eduDirector of Tribal Relations
OfficerVanessa EsquvidoNor Rel Muk Wintuvesquivido@csuchico.eduMulticultural & Gender Studies
MemberAmber Noel-CamachoMaiduanoel-camacho@csuchico.eduTribal Relations Specialist
MemberBrowning NeddeauCitizen Potawatomi Nationbmneddeau@csuchico.eduAssistant Professor of Elementary Teacher Education, School of Education & Assistant Professor of American Indian Studies, Department of Multicultural & Gender Studies
MemberDon HankinsMiwokdhankins@csuchico.edu

Professor, Department of Geography and Planning & Field Director, CSU Chico Ecological Reserves

MemberDr. Heidi C. EricksonCherokee Nationhcerickson@csuchico.eduPart-time Lecturer - Kinesiology Dept.
MemberLaurence GammellAnishnaabe Ojibwelgammell@csuchico.eduAdmissions Outreach Counselor
MemberMiranda RobinsonMescalero Apache/Mexican Americanmlrobinson@csuchico.eduFinancial Aid Advisor - Financial Aid & Scholarship Office
MemberSharleen KraterMaidu/Pit River/Washoskrater@csuchico.eduAssociate Director of Training & Development -Associated Students
nasfa logo