TRIO Student Support Services

Peer Coaches

Academic & Community Engagement Coach

Student sitting by the creek.

Hello, I am a 5th year majoring in music education and minoring in agriculture and child development. This will be my third year working for TRIO SSS as an Academic Coach. On campus, I am involved with music organizations and ensembles. I have worked as a Summer Orientation peer advisor and as a TRIO Peer Mentor in the past. During my free time, I love to play instruments, go for outdoor walks, and watch Star wars. If there’s anything that I can help you with, please let me know! 

Academic & Community Engagement Coach

Student wearing a red polo shirt.

Hello everyone! My name is Elizabeth but I prefer Eli. I was born and raised in Merced, CA and I am a fourth-year majoring in Public Health. I have been in TRIO throughout my whole college career and I have the privilege to serve as the Academic Coach for TRIO Student Support Services. Within my role I have been able to assist students and ensuring their success here at Chico State. My greatest memory with TRIO is going camping for the first time with my TRIO family. I have enjoyed helping students and helping them feel connected with Chico Campus. Lastly, me and my sisters have established and are founders of Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority Incorporated here at Chico State. We continue to grow and have gained many leadership skills. After graduation I would like to educate students about women’s health, safe sex, STI and STD prevention. 

Financial Wellness Coach

Student wearing a black polo shirt.

Hi, my name is Luis and I’m the TRIO Financial Coach. I’m from the Bay Area and have lived there my whole life. I’m a third-year majoring in Computer Animation and Game Development, and am currently leaning towards the Animation side. My favorite things to do in my free time is watching movies/tv shows and playing sports.  I hope to one day be able to be a part of the video game or movie industry. I am also an active participant in TRIO, and am always super thankful for how much they helped me throughout my journey at Chico State.  I see this leadership position as an opportunity to give back to students the same way TRIO did for me.

Graduation and Retention Coach

Student wearing a red TRIO shirt.

My name is Julie Heisler and I’m the TRIO Graduation and Retention Coach. I received my BA in Psychology here at Chico State in Spring 2021, and I’m currently working on my Master’s degree in Marriage and Family Therapy. I’ve lived all over the US, and even overseas during my time in the Navy, but I did most of my growing up between Northern and Southern California. My long-term goal is to become a therapist and help promote the mental health and well-being of folks here in Chico. I love the time that I spend here with my TRIO family. I’m always excited to get to know the students that are a part of our program and know that I’m contributing in some small way to helping them achieve their goals.