University Police

Campus Regulations

For Emergencies, Dial 9-1-1

Bikes and Skateboards

Expand All | Collapse All

Bike registration
  • Can I ride a bike or skateboard on campus?

    No. Due to safety reasons, bikes and skateboards cannot be used in the campus core.

  • How do I register my bike on campus?

    To register your bike, contact the CSU, Chico Police Department Dispatch Center (530-898-5555).

  • What do I need to bring with me to register my bike?

    You will need:

      - Your bicycle
      - A photo ID
      - A credit card or check. The cost of registration is $10.00 for initial licensing; renewals are $5.00
  • Why should I register my bike?

    When you license your bike, the information you provide is entered into the University Police Department database.


    If your bike is stolen, we can quickly retrieve the bike's information from the database and enter that information into a statewide law enforcement stolen property database. When law enforcement officers stop a person for any reason while riding a bicycle, the bicycle's serial number is checked against the statewide stolen property database. If the bicycle was reported stolen, it will display as stolen and list the owner's information, so the bicycle can be returned to its rightful owner.


    Bike registration proves ownership in cases where a bicycle is accidentally locked to another bicycle, a bicycle lock jams, or the key to a bicycle lock is lost. CSU, Chico Police Department staff are unable to cut a bicycle lock unless ownership can be proven.


    Additionally, California Department of Motor Vehicles requires all bicycles to be licensed.


Weapons on Campus

Expand All | Collapse All

springtime on campus
  • What is a weapon?

    A weapon is anything someone could use to hurt or harm someone else. Examples include:
    - a knife with a fixed blade longer than 2 ½ inches;
    - a gun;
    - a stun gun, also known as a taser; and
    - pepper spray.

  • Are weapons prohibited on campus?

    Weapons are generally prohibited on a California State University campus. However, two items are permitted:
    - a folding pocket knife that does not open automatically or have more than one sharp edge; and
    - a canister of pepper spray, not larger than 2.5 oz.

  • What happens if I am found in possession of a weapon on campus?

    The consequences for possessing a prohibited weapon include both campus administrative sanctions, arrest by the police, criminal prosecution for a felony offense, and imprisonment.

  • Where can I find more information about weapons-related policies and laws?

    Section 41301(b)(13), Title 5 Education Code – makes it a code of conduct violation for students of the university to possess a firearm or prohibited knife on the grounds of the California State University.

    CSU Chico Executive Memorandum 12-025 – makes it an administrative violation for employees of the university to possess a firearm or prohibited knife on the grounds of the California State University.

    Section 626.9, California Penal Code – makes in a felony crime for anyone to possess a firearm, loaded or not, on the grounds of the California State University. Senate Bill No. 707, approved by the Governor on October 10, 2015, amended section 626.9 and removed the exemption allowing persons holding a valid license/permit to carry a concealed firearm on the grounds of the California State University. Concealed weapons license/permit holders must obtain written authorization through the Chico State Police Department prior to carrying a concealed firearm on campus. Please contact the Police Commander at 530.898.5555 for more information.

    Section 626.10 (b), California Penal Code – makes it a crime for anyone to possess certain types of knives on the grounds of the California State University.

    Section 626.10 (i), California Penal Code – makes it a crime for anyone to possess stun guns/tasers on the grounds of the California State University.

    Section 26350, California Penal Code – makes it a crime for anyone to carry in plain sight (“open carry”) a loaded or unloaded handgun anywhere in public.

    Section 25850, California Penal Code – makes it a crime for anyone to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle or public place. A police officer has the right to examine a firearm to determine if it is loaded. Refusal constitutes probable cause for arrest.

    Section 12001, California Penal Code – provides that the term firearm includes rifles, shotguns, revolvers, pistols, or any other device designed to be used as a weapon from which a projectile is expelled by the force of any explosion or other form of combustion.

    Section 12001(a), California Penal Code – provides that a handgun is any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon a person that has a barrel length of less than 16 inches.

    Section 626.9(l)(m)(o), California Penal Code – allows duly appointed peace officers, armored vehicle guards, authorized security guards, and authorized retired peace officers to possess firearms on campus.

    Note: There are circumstances when others may be authorized to possess a firearm(s) on campus. Some examples include: theatrical performances, movie shoots, class instruction, etc. Written authorization to possess a firearm on campus must be obtained through the Chico State Police Department. Please contact the Police Commander at 530.898.5555 for more information.


Alcohol on Campus

Expand All | Collapse All

wine bottles
  • Can I possess or consume alcohol on campus?

    The possession, consumption, service, or sale of alcoholic beverages on the campus, in campus-owned facilities, or at University and auxiliary sponsored events is generally prohibited as a matter of institutional policy. Events or occasions where alcohol is approved to be served or sold are termed “special events” and must be approved by the Director of University Public Engagement.

  • Where can I find more information about alcohol-related policies and laws?

    CSU Chico Executive Memorandum 18-009 – outlines the policy for alcohol service at special events.

    Section 41301(b)(10), Title 5 Education Code – makes it a code of conduct violation for students of the university to possess, manufacture, distribute alcoholic beverages (except as expressly permitted by law and University regulations), or public intoxication while on campus or at a University related activity.

    Section 1.1, Alcohol, University Housing Policy Guide – applies to all individuals and covers all areas of University Housing Communities. The use, possession, manufacture, and distribution of alcoholic beverages is prohibited.

    Section 25662, California Business and Professions Code – makes it illegal for any person under the age of 21 to have alcohol in their possession when on a California street, highway, public place or place open to the public.

    Section 13202.5, California Vehicle Code – provides that a conviction for violating California’s minor in possession law will result in a one-year suspension of the minor’s driver’s license.

    Section 25658, California Business and Professions Code – makes it a misdemeanor in California to sell or furnish alcohol to a minor.

    Section 647(f), California Penal Code – makes it a misdemeanor for a person to be intoxicated in a public place and unable to exercise care for their safety or interfere with, obstruct, or prevent others from using public areas.


Tobacco Use on Campus

Expand All | Collapse All

No smoking sign
  • Can I smoke or use tobacco products on campus?

    No, all the campuses of the California State University are smoke/tobacco/vape free.

  • Where can I find more information about tobacco-related policies and laws? 

    CSU Executive Order 1108 – provides that Chico State is a smoke/tobacco/vape free campus. Smoking, the use or sale of tobacco product, and the use of designated smoking areas are prohibited on all California State University properties.

    Section 7597, California Government Code – makes it an infraction to smoke tobacco products on the campus. Smoking includes the use of an electronic smoking device. Prohibited tobacco products include chewing tobacco and/or any other product containing, made, or derived from tobacco or nicotine.

    Section 118948, California Health and Safety Code – prohibits smoking in a motor vehicle when a minor is present.

Marijuana on Campus

Expand All | Collapse All

  • Can I possess or consume marijuana on campus?

    California State University, Chico prohibits the use, possession or sale of marijuana on campus property, including residential facilities. All CSU campuses are held to two federal laws: the Drug-Free Schools and Community Act and the Drug-Free Workplace Act, which require the university to prohibit all illegal drugs in order to receive federal funding (financial aid, work study, and federal grants). Marijuana is still illegal under Federal law. Thus, the use and possession of marijuana in any form or amount violates campus and CSU systemwide policy, and the CSU Student Conduct Code. The California Compassionate Use Act and Proposition 64 does not apply on the campuses of the California State University.

  • Where can I find more information about marijuana-related policies and laws?

    CSU Executive Order 930 – prohibits the unlawful possession, manufacture, distribution or use of any controlled substance.

    Section 41301(b)(9), Title 5 Education Code – makes it a code of conduct violation for students of the University to possess, manufacture, or distribute illegal drugs or drug-related paraphernalia, (except as expressly permitted by law and University regulations) or the misuse of legal pharmaceutical drugs.

    Sections 1.1 through 1.4, Drugs and Drug Paraphernalia, University Housing Policy Guide – applies to all individuals and covers all areas of University Housing Communities. The use, possession, manufacture, or distribution of illegal drugs and narcotics is prohibited. The sale or inappropriate use of prescription drugs is prohibited. Possession of drug paraphernalia is prohibited. Possess of items that conceal or disguise drug use is prohibited.

    CSU Chico Executive Memorandum 89-012 – prohibits the unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing, possession, or use of a controlled substance on the campus.

    Section 11357, California Health and Safety Code – While it is lawful for an individual, age 21 or older, to possess not more than 28.5 grams of marijuana for personal use, it may not be smoked or otherwise used in public, or in any location where smoking of tobacco is legally prohibited. Hashish or hash is considered to be marijuana under California law. Individuals over the age of 21 may possess up to 8 grams of hashish.

    Section 23222(b), California Vehicle Code – makes it unlawful to drive a vehicle containing any marijuana that is not in a container, or is in a container that has been opened or has a seal broken.

    Section 11362.5, California Health and Safety Code – outlines provisions under the law and related to medical marijuana. California’s Compassionate Use Act of 1996 entitles individuals to use medical marijuana if a doctor has recommended it for the treatment of a serious medical condition. The use or possession of marijuana in conjunction with a medicinal marijuana recommendation made by a doctor is prohibited on campus.