CSU, Chico News

Construction Management Major Receives Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award

Date: 09-20-2011

Kathleen McPartland
Public Affairs

Ashley Marie Cosgrove has received a 2011 William Randolph Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement. The $3,000 award was given to 23 CSU students who have shown impressive perseverance at overcoming challenges to pursue their college degrees. These students have also excelled academically and provided service to their universities and communities.

Cosgrove is a first-generation college student who has worked every summer since the sixth grade to save money for her education. She attended Cuesta College in San Luis Obispo for two years and then transferred to California State University, Chico in fall 2010, after completing her general education requirements.

Cosgrove is a construction management major who “enjoys working outside and with teams.” Once at CSU, Chico, Cosgrove immersed herself in every club and volunteer activity related to her major. She was a volunteer on the Chico State Catalyst Blitz Build to construct two transitional houses for Catalyst, an organization that provides services to victims of domestic violence.

She also volunteered with Habitat for Humanity to build housing for families in need, with a construction company to renovate the Children’s Hospital in Madera, and with The Salvation Army to make site improvements on one of its facilities. She is an active participant in the student chapters of the Associated General Contractors of America, the Design Build Institute of America and the Construction Management Association of America.

The Hearst/CSU Trustees' award is among the highest forms of recognition for student achievement in the CSU. The CSU Board of Trustees will honor the scholars today, Sept. 20, at the CSU Office of the Chancellor in Long Beach, California.

The previous awardees from CSU, Chico are Jillian Ruddell (2010), Ger Thao (2009), Marycarmen Rosales (2008), Kevin Brady (2007), Anna Sorensen (2006), Elizabeth Coudright (2004), Ben Seigler (2003), Diana Fazlic (2002), Patty Cotter (2001), Aimee Webb (2000), Lynn Wirt (1996), Kelly Baylor (1995) and David Ware (1993).