2003-205 University Catalog spacer
California State University, ChicoTable of ContentsSearchDegreesCoursesScheduleHome spacer
fees pic 1 fees pic 2 fees pic 3 fees pic 4
button
 

Fees, Tuition, Refunds, and Holds

Fees and Tuition

The following fees and and other expenses are scheduled for the 2002/2003 academic year. Fees and tuition are subject to change without notice because of Trustee, Legislative, or university action. Updated fee information, payment deadlines, and procedures are provided each semester in The Class Schedule and on the Chico Web (http://www.csuchico.edu). You may pay fees a number of ways. For information, please contact Student Financial Services or see www.csuchico.edu/cmgt.

Legal residents of California are not charged tuition for their bachelor’s or master’s degree. Application and Semester Registration Fees are applicable to all students. See also Fee Waivers and Exemptions at the end of this chapter.

Application Fee..... $55.00

The Application Fee is non-refundable and payable by check, money order, or credit card at the time you submit your application.

Semester Registration Fees

You will be charged and liable for registration fees, according to the table below, and non-resident tuition (if applicable) for any and all classes in which you are enrolled on the first day of classes. You will be able to add and drop classes within the first two weeks of classes without financial penalty as long as you remain enrolled in classes. If you drop all classes or withdraw from the university on or after the first day of classes, you will be liable for part or all registration fees depending upon your drop/withdrawal date. Exceptions are granted only for compulsory military service.  (See inside the front cover of The Class Schedule “Important Registration Activities Dates, and Deadlines.”)

Registration Fees Owed when Additional Units Are Requested: After the Fee Payment Deadline, you may only register for the total number of units for which you have paid. If you paid for only part-time registration and want to add to the full-time level, you must pay the additional fees before you add more classes through TRACS or the COP Process. Go to Student Financial Services-Cashiering to pay additional fees if necessary.

Non-resident Tuition

In addition to the registration fees below, non-resident students (U.S. and international) must pay an additional amount of $282.00 for each semester unit or fraction thereof. The tuition must be paid by the end of the second week of the semester to avoid deferred payment plan fees and service charges.

Payment of Registration Fees

*Note: The following reflects the fees approved July 16, 2003 by the CSU Board of Trustees, effective immediately.

Registration Fees Part time: 0-6.0 units Full time: 6.1 + units

 

Undergraduate

Graduate

Undergraduate

Graduate

State University Fee

$594.00
$654.00
$1023.00
$1128.00

Student Union Fee

130.00
130.00
130.00
130.00

Student Activity Fee

42.00
42.00
42.00
42.00

Instructionally Related Activities Fee

95.00
95.00
95.00
95.00

Health Services Fee*

103.00
103.00
103.00
103.00

Health Facilities Fee

3.00
3.00
3.00
3.00

ID Card

2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00

Total Per Semester

$969.00
$1029.00
$1398.00
$1503.00

* See “Student Health Services

The Fee Payment Deadline

Registration fees are payable anytime using the Pay-By-Mail procedure, but must be received no later than the published Registration Fee Payment Deadline for the term. See “The Academic Calendar” in this catalog, or “Important Registration Activities, Dates, and Deadlines” and the sections on “Fees, Tuition, Credits, and Refunds” in The Class Schedule. See also the Chico Web Schedule page for current term fee and deadline information.

A $25 late fee will be assessed if registration fees have not been paid by the Fee Payment Deadline, unless you are a financial aid recipient who has filed a Free Application for Federal Student Aid directed to CSU Chico no later than July 1. Financial aid recipients must pay fees either through a financial aid disbursement or personal payment no later than the first financial aid disbursement date for the term to avoid a $25 late fee. If you have not paid fees or certified financial aid, classes will be dropped prior to the first day of classes.

Deferred Payment Plans

The CSU offers two deferred payment plans to assist non-financial aid students. The first plan will defer two-thirds of the State University Fee for all eligible students who apply, and the second plan will defer tuition for non-resident students. The first plan has a $33 non-refundable service charge; the second plan has a 15 percent non-refundable service charge.

State University Fee deferment contracts must be signed and all non-deferred registration fees must be received by the Registration Fee Payment Deadline to avoid a late fee and to avoid having your classes dropped. To receive additional information or the Deferred Payment Contract form, see The Class Schedule, go to Student Financial Services, Kendall 214, or call 898-5936.

Financial Aid Students and Payment of Registration Fees

You may defer payment of registration fees until your financial aid is disbursed only if you filed a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) directed to CSU, Chico for the academic year you choose to attend. Your fee payment will be automatically deferred until your first disbursement date. A $25 late fee will be assessed if you are unable to use financial aid or otherwise pay your fees by the first financial aid disbursement date for the term. An additional $20 past due fee will be charged on November 1 (Fall) or April 1 (Spring) if you owe any debts to the university as of that date.

If your fees are not paid and your financial aid cannot be confirmed by the Financial Aid Office on or before the Fee Payment Deadline, you will not be allowed to add classes until your fees are paid or financial aid applicant status has been confirmed. Students will fail to meet deadline or qualify for deferment may have classes dropped for non-payment. Please read The Class Schedule sections on “Fees, Tuition, Credits, and Refunds” and “Financial Aid Students” for current and important information about charges, the Fee Payment Deadline, and the financial aid process.

If you defer payment of fees until your aid is disbursed, you are still liable for part or all fees and tuition for all classes in which you were enrolled on or after the first day of classes depending upon the date of your drop/withdrawal, regardless of whether you later receive aid or not.  

Continuing Education Registration Fees

Open University (Extension) Fees

Lecture or discussion course, each unit

$120.00

Activity, science laboratory, and contract course fees vary depending upon the type of course.

Summer Session Fees

Each summer session unit

$120.00

Associated Students Activity Fee

$1.00

Student Union Fee

$5.00

Course Fees and Deposits

Course fees and deposits are approved for certain classes which have extraordinary costs for materials or services. Courses that require a fee are listed in The Class Schedule with the amount of the fee given in the “Fees” column, on the TRACS Study List which is mailed to you, or announced in the course syllabus. The fee varies by the course requirements. Most courses do not have an additional course fee.

Course fees and deposits are payable by mail using the Pay-By-Mail procedure as explained in The Class Schedule, or at Student Financial Services-Cashiering, unless otherwise stated.  Course fees may be deducted from financial aid.

Penalty Fees and Assessments

Late payment of registration fees

$25.00

Missed deadline fee

$10.00

This fee assessed for failure to meet an administrative deadline, appointment, action, or time limit.

Dishonored checks or credit card returned for any reason

$20.00

A dishonored check or credit card will be considered the same as no payment.

Past Due Receivable Fee

$20.00

This fee will be assessed for a past due receivable not paid by Friday of the ninth week of the term.

Late COP Submission

$10.00

A $10 late fee is charged for each new change of program (adds, drops, or changing to CR/NC grading option) submitted after the sixth week of classes.

Assessments of varying amounts will be made by appropriate departments for breakage and wastage of materials and equipment. Fines will be assessed by the library for overdue, lost, or damaged materials.

Transcript and Other Documents Service Fees

Costs associated with ordering official trans- scripts of your academic record (CSU, Chico permanent record only) and other Admissions and Records (Records and Registration) services are listed below.

Number of Official Chico

First transcript

$4.00

Up to nine additional transcripts prepared at the same time

each @ $2.00

Additional transcripts (after ten) prepared at the same time

each @ $1.00

Unofficial and adviser’s copies of your transcripts and checksheets may be picked up within 48 hours at Records and Registration
for the following fees:

First set of documents copied

$2.00

Each additional set ordered at the same time

$1.00

Replacing document already provided by Records and Registration (e.g., study list, immunization verification, test scores, grade reports) 

$1.00


Application for graduation

$28.00

Refiling for raduation

$8.00

Replacing a diploma

$12.00


Submitting documents after a published deadline (e.g., graduation application, petition to repeat with academic forgiveness, CR/NC petition)

$10.00


Rush Services (e.g., certification of graduation, Faxing documents, rushing transcript)

$8.00

For further information, visit the Office of Student Records and Registration, Meriam Library 180.


Parking Fees

Parking on campus is by permit only.

Regular Session (per semester):

Automobiles

$72.00

Motorcycles/Scooters

$18.00

Summer Session:

Automobiles

$48.00

Motorcycles/Scooters

$12.00

Weekly, subject to availability:

Automobiles

$4.80

Please note: On-campus parking at Chico State is limited. Parking permits are expensive, hard to obtain, and once you have one there is still no guarantee you will be able to find an available space in the lot of your preference. We strongly encourage you to leave your automobile at home and consider using a bicycle or bus to travel back and forth to class. It is more economical, conserves energy resources, and saves you the frustration of trying to find a parking space.

Financial Credit Policy for Fees and Tuition

Students who enroll in classes and subsequently drop all classes or withdraw from the university will be charged and liable for part or all fees and tuition for any classes in which they are enrolled on or after the first day of classes. The amount of financial credit received (if any) is dependent upon the date all classes are dropped or withdrawal is processed.

Students who remain enrolled in classes for the semester may add and drop classes during the Add/Drop Period without financial penalty and are liable for classes in which they are enrolled as of the 2nd Friday of classes plus any classes in which they may subsequently enroll. No financial credit will be received for any classes dropped after the 2nd Friday of classes unless the student drops ALL classes and/or withdraws from the university for the semester and may be eligible for a partial financial credit depending upon the drop or withdrawal date.

Exceptions to the refund policy are granted only for compulsory military service.

See the Refund Schedule below to calculate any financial credit resulting from withdrawal or drop in units.

Please see “Withdrawing from the University” in The University Catalog for complete information and procedures to follow to formally withdraw from the university.

How to calculate pro-rated refund:

1. Count the number of calendar days from first day of classes to actual withdrawal date.

2. Divide the number of days by 110 (number of days in the semester) and multiply it by registration fees and tuition charged to get your pro-rated fee.

3. Subtract pro-rated fees from fees paid. This will be your refund, less a $5 administrative charge If you have not paid your fees because of a financial aid deferral or payment plan, it is possible that you were still be financially responsible for an unpaid portion of your fees.

Example:

1. John withdraws from all his classes on Sept. 5, 2003 (10 days).

2. 10 / 110 x $1035.00 = $94.09.

3. $1035.00 - $94.09 =  $940.91 - $5.00 admin. fee = $935.91 refund

Refund of Fees—Financial Credit Refund Policy

If you want a check issued for a financial credit on your account, it is called a refund. Refunds will be automatically processed throughout the term (after the second week of classes) by Student Financial Services whenever there is a financial credit on your account. You may receive a refund at an earlier date if you apply for a refund by filling out a Refund Request form, or by writing or phoning Student Financial Services. Prior to a refund being issued, an audit is made on the student account to verify and determine the actual amount that should be returned to the student, or to financial aid programs, and/or to pay other university debts.  An administrative fee is retained to help cover the cost of processing a refund.

Any funds owed to you by the State of California may be withheld as payment against any unpaid obligation to the university. Refunds to financial aid recipients may be offset by the university in order to return the funds to the aid programs. Additional information is available from Financial Aid Business Services, KNDL 213, 898-6278.

Details regarding which fees may be refunded, the circumstances under which fees may be refunded, and the appropriate procedure to be followed in seeking refunds may be obtained by consulting Section 42201 (parking fees), 41913 (nonresident tuition), 42019 (housing charges), and 41802 (all other fees) of Title 5, California Code of Regulations. Information concerning any aspect of the refund of fees may be obtained from the Student Financial Services office.

Debts Owed to the University

Should a student or former student fail to pay a debt owed to the institution, the institution may “withhold permission to register, to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged, to receive services, materials, food or merchandise or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt” until the debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381). For example, the institution may withhold permission from any person owing a debt to receive official transcripts of grades. If a student believes he or she does not owe all or part of an asserted unpaid obligation, the student should contact the campus business office. The business office, or another office on campus to which the business office may refer the student, will review the pertinent information, including information provided by the student, and will advise the student of its conclusions.

Registration Holds

A registration hold will prevent you from requesting or adding classes through TRACS or the Chico State Connection web portal. TRACS or the CSC web portal will inform you if you have a registration hold. Students who owe any fees at the end of the ninth week of classes will have a Balance Due registration hold placed on their account. Placement of holds may be done at any time a university debt or other serious violation occurs. Take care of all registration holds as soon as possible. If a registration hold is placed after you have requested classes, you have until the end of the TRACS Course Request Period each semester to clear the hold or all your requested or enrolled courses will be dropped. Please Pay-By-Mail or go to Student Financial Services-Cashiering, KNDL 212, to pay fees owed. The university will remove the hold within two working days of payment of all outstanding fees. TRACS and the web portal will direct you to appropriate offices to clear other holds.

Determination of Residence for Non-resident Tuition Purposes

The Office of Admissions determines the residence status of all new undergraduate students for non-resident tuition purposes. The Graduate School determines the residence status for graduates. Responses to certain items on the Application for Admission and, if necessary, answers to the Residency Questionnaire, are used in making this determination. A student who fails to submit adequate information to establish a right to classification as a California resident will be classified as a non-resident. Please see the section on “Determination of Residence for Non-resident Tuition Purposes” under “The California State University System Policies and Regulations” in The University Catalog.

Fee Waivers and Exemptions

Systemwide mandatory fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the Alan Pattee Scholarship Act Ed Code, Section 68120. Systemwide mandatory fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provision of Education Code, Section 32320 (Children of deceased or disabled veterans).

The Alan Pattee Scholarship

Pursuant to the Alan Pattee Scholarship Act, Education Code Section 68120, children of deceased public law enforcement or fire suppression employees who were California residents and who were killed in the course of law enforcement or fire suppression duties are not charged mandatory systemwide fees or tuition of any kind at any California State University campus. Students who may qualify for these benefits should contact the Admissions/Registrar’s Office for an eligibility determination.

Fee Waiver For Students Sixty Years of Age or Older

If you are a California resident who is sixty years of age or older and apply for a waiver, you may enroll in regular session courses on a space-available basis with a substantial reduction in fees. The application fee is waived. You must meet admission criteria and provide all transcripts and required admission test scores. Fee waivers are available to undergraduate and graduate students. You may obtain further information and apply for the waiver from the Office of Admissions, 530-898-6321.

Procedure for the Establishment or Abolishment of a Student Body Fee

The law governing the California State University provides that fees defined as mandatory, such as a student body association fee and a student body center fee, may be established. A student body association fee must be established upon a favorable vote of two-thirds of the students voting in an election held for this purpose (Education Code Section 89300). A student body center fee may be established only after a fee referendum is held which approves by a two-thirds favorable vote the establishment of the fee (Education Code Section 89304). The student body fee was established at California State University, Chico by student referendum in March 17, 1982. The campus President may adjust the student body association fee only after the fee adjustment has been approved by a majority of students voting in a referendum established for that purpose (Education Code Section 89300). The required fee shall be subject to referendum at any time upon the presentation of a petition to the campus President containing the signatures of 10 percent of the regularly enrolled students at the university. Once bonds are issued, authority to set and adjust student body center fees is governed by provisions of the State University Revenue Bond Act of 1947, including, but not limited to, Education Code Sections 90012, 90027, and 90068. Student body fees support a variety of cultural and recreational programs, child care centers, and special student support programs.

The process to establish and adjust other campus-based mandatory fees requires consideration by the campus fee advisory committee and a student referendum. The campus President may use alternate consultation mechanisms if he/she determines that a referendum is not the best mechanism to achieve appropriate and meaningful consultation. Results of the referendum and the fee committee review are advisory to the campus President. The President may also request the Chancellor to establish the mandatory fee. Authority to adjust fees after consideration by the campus fee advisory committee and the completion of a student referendum is delegated to the President.