Computer Science

Tutoring/Academic Support

This essential program supports over 570 Chico State students majoring in computer science, by providing high-level support; immediately impacting students in their undergraduate education, and putting them on a path to graduate on time and prepared to excel in their careers.

Generously funded by:
● Dr. Bill Lane Memorial Computer Science Tutoring Endowment ●
● Chevron Charitable Fund ●

For more than 30 years, Dr. Bill Lane exemplified Chico State’s commitment to hands-on learning and student success, and his proudest honor was receiving the Advisor of the Year award in 1988. Norman Tu (a former student of Dr. Lane) and his wife Antonia Tu established this endowment in recognition of Lane’s 31 years of academic contribution to Chico State. Tu credits Dr. Lane for having a profound impact on his own development and business career, describing him as a trusted mentor and friend. This endowment is an inspirational and impactful way to honor the memory of Dr. Lane, while furthering his legacy of supporting the next generation of computer scientists. 

Dr. Lane joined Chico State in 1960 and swiftly established the first computer science degree program in the CSU system. He was known to colleagues and students as brilliant, forthright, and passionate, with a strategic and forward-thinking vision that made him a pioneer in undergraduate education and a dedicated mentor to students. Dr. Lane initiated and taught the University’s first computing classes in 1961, single-handedly led the acquisition of campus’s first computer in 1962, and founded electrical engineering’s computer science degree option in 1964 and the BS and MS in computer science in 1968. In addition to his commitment to teaching throughout his career, he provided students with scholarships, stipends, and work opportunities, maintained lifelong relationships with mentees, and established corporate partnerships that still impact students today. Lane served as director of the Computer Center (1963-1968 and 1972-1976), program director and chair of the computer science department (1964-1974), and dean of what is now the College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Construction Management (1974-1980).