Graduation Initiative

2022-2023 Graduation Initiative Advisory Team

Executive Leadership

  • Debra S. Larson, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Isaac Brundage, Vice President for Student Affairs

Co-Chairs  (selected from committee membership)

  • Provost’s Designee: Kate McCarthy, Dean of Undergraduate Education
  • Vice President for Student Affairs Designee: Kaitlyn Baumgartner Lee, Assistant Vice President for Student Success Initiatives and University Advising


Academic Leadership

  • Vice Provost for Academic Programs: Daniel Grassian
  • Dean, Undergraduate Education: Kate McCarthy (co-chair) 
  • Chair of the Academic Senate: Marianne Paiva

Student Affairs Leadership

  • AVP for Student Success Initiatives and University Advising: Kaitlyn Baumgartner Lee (co-chair)
  • AVP for Student Engagement and Retention Programs: Cirilo Cortez
  • AVP for Enrollment Management: Jerry Ross
  • AVP for Student Support Programs: Juanita Mottley

Enrollment Management and Student Financial Services

  • University Registrar: Michael Dills-Allen
  • Director of Admissions: Serge Desir Jr.
  • Director, Financial Aid and Scholarships:  Kentiner David
  • Director, Student Financial Services: Anna Magaña

University Diversity Council  (two members selected by UDC)

  • Teresita Curiel
  • Michelle Morris

Faculty  (appointed by college chairs)

  • College of Agriculture: TBD (Celina Phillips 21-22)
  • College of Behavioral and Social Sciences: Darin Haerle 
  • College of Business: Nicholas Lynch
  • College of Communication and Education:  Zach Justus 
  • College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Construction Management: Zahrasadat Alavi
  • College of Humanities and Fine Arts: Erin Kelly
  • College of Natural Sciences: TBD (Jeff Bell 2021-22)
  • Meriam Library: William Cuthbertson 21-22

Academic Dean  (appointed by the Provost):   

  • Blake Wentz, Dean, College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Construction Management

Student Life

  • Director, Student Life and Leadership or designee:  Mary Wallmark
  • Director, CCLC: Malcolm McLemore
  • Program Coordinator, Orientation and New Student Programs, Student Life and Leadership: Shawn Ryan

Academic Support and Innovation

  • First-Year Experience program Director:  Sue Peterson
  • Faculty Development Director: Chiara Ferrari
  • Student Learning Center Director: Dawn Frank
  • Early Outreach and Support Programs Director or designee:  Cecilia Santillan-Robles
  • Chico Student Success Center Representative, appointed by UED Associate Dean: Darnell Lee 
  • CARS representative, appointed by Team co-chairs: Ashley Person

Technology and Research

  • VPIT or designee: Monique Sendze
  • Academic Technology Officer: Kathy Fernandes
  • Director of Institutional Research or designee: Tom Rosenow

Two Students  (appointed by VPSA)

  • Cynthia Avila Alfaro
  • Juanwon Anderson-Verdell

Administrative and Budget Support

  • Diane Ramalia, ASC, Undergraduate Education
  • Brandi Aranguren, Manager, Strategic Initiatives & External Resources