Institute for Sustainable Development


Our Sustainable Future - CSU, Chico

2009 This Way to Sustainability Conference Photo Album

The Annual "Greenie" Awards

These beautifully hand-crafted awards were made by CSU, Chico Art Department Student Alex Johnson using recycled glass.

Greenie Award

Individual "Greenie" Award Winner Robyn DiFalco

Robyn DiFalco

Robyn DiFalco, Associated Students Sustainability Coordinator

Robyn DiFalco

Provost Sandra Flake presented the awards at Thursday's reception


Non-Profit Organization "Greenie" Award Winners River Partners

Irv Schiffman

Irv Schiffman, Board Chair accepted the
award during Thursday's welcome reception

River Partners

John Carlon, President and
Irv Schiffman, Board Chair

Business "Greenie" Award Winners Smucker's


Smucker's Shayne Law accepts award during Thursday's welcome reception

Shayne Law & Bob Wagner

Shayne Law and Bob Wagner of Smuckers with their "Greenie" Award


The 2nd Annual Paul Persons Award

Paul Persons Award Presentation

Paul Persons Award presented by Bonnie Persons
Winner Diana Flannery
Health & Community Services
CSU, Chico



Friday's speaker/moderator reception was a fun evening!

Friday Reception

Guests at Friday's reception

Friday Reception

Speakers enjoying the reception and conversation

Daryl Hannah

Daryl Hannah collaborating with student moderators and conference organizers

Paul Watson & Deanna Dottai

Captain Paul Watson speaking with student conference coordinator Deanna Dottai

Andrew Szasz

Andrew Szasz meeting other speakers and conference coordinators at the reception

Cpt. Paul Watson

Captain Paul Watson mingling with lead conference coordinator and host Teri Randolph and reception staff Ken Overman


Howard Yana-Shapiro

Howard Yana-Shapiro at the
Bell Memorial Union Auditorium

Tim LaSalle

Tim LaSalle at Laxson Auditorium


More photos and PowerPoints from the conference to come so stay tuned here.