School of Nursing


Scholarships Available

Donor Scholarships

  • Dorothy Minch Scholarship
  • Butte-Glenn Medical Society Auxiliary Scholarship
  • William B. & Beatrice M. Chizlett Nursing Scholarship
  • Peggy Chernow Memorial & Butte-Glenn Medical Society Auxiliary Scholarship
  • Barbara Mullane Culver Memorial Scholarship
  • Agnes Dix Memorial Scholarship
  • Sherry D. Fox Scholarship
  • Lyla Hammock Nursing Scholarship
  • Elsie Latshaw Nursing Scholarship
  • Katherine Barbano Memorial Award
  • William Cody Memorial Scholarship
  • Watling Family Nursing Scholarship
  • School of Nursing Scholarship
  • Gail Peterson Nursing Scholarship
  • Fumiye (Imamura) Phelps Memorial Scholarship
  • Dave and Frances Ramme Scholarship
  • Ethel Robinson Scholarship
  • Helena Mesner-Krum Scholarship
  • Tieck Scholarship Fund
  • Gladys Kolbenson Ownby and James Ownby, Jr., MD
  • Julia Grieco Memorial Nursing Scholarship
  • Helen Hammes Memorial Scholarship
  • Linda Montgomery Brown Memorial Scholarship
  • Robert P. Glick, M.D. Scholarship
  • Susan O. Morrow Nursing Scholarship
  • Chico Creek Nursing Scholarship
  • Josephine E. Keaveney Memorial Nursing Scholarship
  • Augie Merrill Nursing Scholarship

The Chizlett Scholarship and the Phelps Scholarships
Designated for upper division or graduate students in nursing, and the Agnes Dix Scholarship is designated for continuing upper division students in nursing. The priority for the Tieck Scholarship is students with second degree tuition expenses. Some scholarships are designated for specific towns or counties.

Helen Hammes Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship gives priority to ethnic minority students with a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Watling Family Nursing Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a student accepted in the RN to BSN program based on financial need and 3.0 minimum GPA. Preference is given to a student where English-is-a-second language.

Special Community and Other Scholarships

Alpha Beta Chapter of Omega Nu Scholarship
A scholarship is awarded to a student who is a resident of Oroville. To apply, contact Alpha Beta Chapter of Omega Nu in Oroville.

Feather River Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship
A scholarship is awarded annually to a student in a Health Career major. To apply, contact Feather River Hospital. 

Military Scholarships and Loans
Two or three-year scholarships or loans which lead to a commission as an Officer in the Armed Services are sometimes available. Contact the military recruiters.

In your local place of residence, inquire of your:

  • County Tuberculosis and Health Association (Lung Association)
  • County Medical Society Auxiliary
  • Local Business and Professional Women's Club
  • Local Hospital
  • Local Veterans Organization
  • Local Service Clubs (such as Soroptimist Club, Business and Professional Women's Club, Quota Club, Pilot Club)
  • Local District of California Nurse's Association
  • Local Parent-Teacher Association

Nursing Loan Funds

Dorothy C. Wisner Memorial Loan Fund
For residents of Yuba, Sutter, or Colusa counties: an interest-free loan of $500 to $3,000. Repayment is deferred until graduation from a health career program. Contact Mrs. Corrine A. Robson, Auxiliary to the Yuba-Sutter-Colusa County Medical Society.

Orval and Leola Tatum Nursing Loan Fund
Two loan awards (interest free) of $1,000.00 each are available to students whose applications are to be accompanied by a recommendation from a Nursing faculty member.

Short-Term Loans
For nursing students in need of a small ($500.00 maximum) short-term (90 days maximum) loan, there are two loan funds available to nursing students in need of a small ($500.00 maximum) short-term (90 days maximum) loan. Students apply at the Office of Student Financial Services(opens in new window)