CMS Login

Enroll in Training

Family & Medical Leave Programs

Contents

 


CSU Family Medical Leave

Under CSU Family Medical Leave (FML), eligible employees with at least 12 months of service may take unpaid job-protected leave for up to 12 weeks in a 12-month, forward rolling period due to the employee’s own or a qualified family member’s serious health condition, the birth or placement of a child, or a qualified military exigency. Eligible employees may take up to 26 weeks to care for a covered service member. CSU FML incorporates both the federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and California Family Rights Act (CFRA) leave entitlements, which normally run concurrently.

CSU policy requires that when an employee is placed on CSU FML for their own serious health condition, the employee must use sick leave credits, vacation credits, personal holiday, and compensatory time off (CTO) (unless specifically excluded by the applicable collective bargaining agreement) prior to going on any unpaid portion of CSU FML.

Similarly, employees who request FML for a family member must exhaust vacation credits, personal holiday, and CTO (unless prohibited by the collective bargaining agreement) prior to going on any unpaid portion of FML. Sick leave credits may be used by mutual agreement pursuant to the appropriate collective bargaining agreement.

Under an exception to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and CSU policy, exempt employees’ accrued leave credits are charged for partial day absences while on CSU FML.

For more information, see the Department of Labor's Employee Rights and Responsibility under the Family and Medical Leave Act publication (PDF).

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Parental (Maternity/Paternity/Adoption) Leave

Parental Leave (as it is referred to in most collective bargaining agreements) is a paid leave of typically up to 30 days due to the birth or placement of a child. Parental Leave is not charged against an employee’s leave credits, and the amount of paid days is determined by the collective bargaining agreement applicable to the employee. Parental Leave may run concurrently with other related leaves for which the employee is eligible, such as FML or California Pregnancy Disability Leave.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

California Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL)

Under California Government Code section 12945(b)(2), female employees are entitled to take up to four (4) months of unpaid Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL) if the employee is disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition. CSU FML runs consecutively with PDL.

An employee placed on PDL is required to use sick leave credits prior to going on any unpaid portion of PDL. The employee may use vacation credits, personal holiday, and CTO while on PDL.

Permanent female employees may also be eligible for up to 12 months of unpaid leave under the Education Code.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Education Code Maternity Leave (ECML)

Pursuant to California Education Code section 89519, permanent female employees may be eligible for unpaid leave due to pregnancy, childbirth, or the recovery there from for up to 12 months. This leave runs concurrently with CSU FML, PDL, Parental Leave, and Unpaid Parental Leave (Unit 3 and 4 employees only).

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Unpaid Parental Leave (Unit 3 and 4 Employees Only)

Tenured or probationary faculty employees (Unit 3, California Faculty Association) and permanent employees in bargaining unit 4 (Academic Professionals of California) may take up to 12 months of unpaid parental leave. This leave runs concurrently with CSU FML, PDL, ECML, and (paid) Parental Leave.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Military Leave

Eligible employees may qualify for emergency, temporary, and indefinite military leave, pursuant to state and federal laws. For more information, see:

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Organ/Bone Marrow Donor Leave

Eligible employees who have exhausted their sick leave may take up to 30 paid, consecutive days of leave during a one-year period to donate an organ to another person.

Eligible employees who have exhausted their sick leave may take up to 5 paid, consecutive days of leave in a one-year period to donate bone marrow to another person.

For more information, see HR 2003-04.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Programs to Supplement Family and/or Medical Leave Programs

Catastrophic Leave Donation Program (CLDP)

Under the CSU Catastrophic Leave Donation Program (CLDP), eligible employees who are totally incapacitated due to a catastrophic injury or illness and who have exhausted all sick leave, vacation leave, personal holiday, and CTO credits may receive sick leave and/or vacation credits from other employees for up to three (3) months. The purpose of the CLDP is to supplement Non-industrial Disability Insurance (NDI) or other disability benefits for which an employee qualifies.

Eligible employees who have exhausted all leave credits and are absent to care for an immediate family member that is incapacitated by a catastrophic injury or illness may also be eligible for the CLDP.

Depending on the applicable collective bargaining agreement, employees may voluntarily donate accrued vacation and/or sick leave hours to employees deemed eligible for the CLDP. The amount of hours employees may donate vary depending on the applicable collective bargaining agreement.

For more information, see the Catastrophic Leave Donation Program Employee Application and Health Care Provider Certification.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Non-Industrial Disability Insurance (NDI)

The Nonindustrial Disability Insurance (NDI) program is a wage continuation program administered by the California Employment Development Department (EDD) for eligible employees that are unable to work due to a non-work related disability (including maternity) and have exhausted all applicable leave credits. The NDI program is in lieu of State Disability Insurance (SDI) benefits. The NDI program defines "disability" as: "mental or physical illness and mental or physical injury, including any illness or injury resulting from pregnancy, childbirth or related medical condition." An employee is deemed disabled on any day in which, because of the employee’s own physical, mental or medical condition, the employee is unable to perform the employee’s regular or customary work.

Eligible employees may receive NDI benefit payments for up to 26 weeks (182 calendar days) for any one disability period, in an amount equal to one-half full pay, not to exceed the specified weekly amount ($125 to $250 per week) based on the employee's collective bargaining unit.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Long-Term Disability (LTD)

The CSU provides LTD insurance at no cost to eligible employees, depending on the collective bargaining unit. LTD insurance pays a monthly benefit in the event the employee cannot work for an extended period of time because of a covered illness or injury. If an employee’s claim for LTD is approved, LTD benefits become payable at the end of the 180 day benefit waiting period and the employee will receive 66 2/3 percent of the employee’s pre-disability earnings (reduced by other income), up to a maximum of $10,000 per month ($15,000 for executives).

For more information, see The Standard LTD for CSU.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Leave Without Pay

A full-time employee or part-time permanent employee may be granted a full or partial leave of absence without pay (LWOP) for up to one (1) year, including for family or medical reasons. A formal leave without pay is a leave that exceeds 15 workdays. Eligibility is based on the requesting employee’s collective bargaining agreement for represented employees, and on Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations for non-represented employees. Typically, a LWOP for medical or family reasons runs concurrently with CSU FML, PDL, ECML, and Parental Leave.

An employee on a Leave Without Pay for more than one full pay period may elect to continue with fringe benefits at the employee’s expense. CSU benefit plan contributions for health, dental, and vision will continue while an employee is on CSU FML and PDL.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Reasonable Accommodation

A disabled employee may be eligible for reasonable accommodation that allows for the employee to perform the essential functions of the job.  Pregnant employees are similarly eligible for reasonable accommodations.  Reasonable accommodations may include additional time off work.  Please contact the Accessibility Resource Center, 530-898-5959, for more information or to request reasonable accommodations.

If you have questions, please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation, (530) 898-4670.

Back to Top

Need Help?

Please contact Employee Leaves & Workers' Compensation if you have any questions on any Family and Medical Leave Programs.