Institute for Sustainable Development
Committee Structure - small

February 23, 2011 President Paul Zingg approves the formation of a Campus Sustainability Committee

See Executive Memorandum 11-017

Building Usage Consolidation Proposal in Support of Climate Neutrality Target
April 2015


Our Sustainable Future - CSU, Chico

Campus Sustainability Committee

In 2007 President Paul Zingg became one of the founding signatories of the American Colleges & University Presidents’ Climate Commitment (ACUPCC). This climate commitment is an outward expression of our campus’s leadership in charting a path toward a more sustainable campus community and our commitment to address climate change by reducing and ultimately neutralizing greenhouse gas emissions from campus and to accelerate research and educational efforts to equip society for a more sustainable future.

As a signatory of the ACUPCC, our institution is pledged to eliminate our campus’s collective contribution to climate change over time. This commitment includes establishing an institutional structure to oversee the development and implementation of a program to comply with this commitment. To fully integrate sustainability across campus departments, we propose the formation of a Campus Sustainability Committee (CSC).

(See the PowerPoint summary presentation)

The role of the Campus Sustainability Committee (CSC) is to serve in an advisory capacity to all campus departments, colleges, and other entities in an effort to advance environmental, social and economic sustainability at the California State University Chico.

The CSC would provide leadership in identifying mechanisms to integrate sustainability concepts into all core functions of the university. The CSC will provide recommendations for implementing sustainability across the campus by constructing a sustainability plan addressing the following nine focus areas:

  1. Education
  2. Transportation
  3. Waste
  4. Procurement
  5. Food services
  6. Biotic environment
  7. Water
  8. Energy
  9. Built environment

Within each focus area the CSC will develop goals, actions, and timeliness. An initial assessment to establish benchmarks will be conducted across the focus areas to allow the campus to evaluate our progress. (See Initial Assessment below.)

Building a common vision is essential to expanding the integration of CSU, Chico’s 6th strategic priority into daily departmental operations. A periodic and comprehensive assessment will provide a platform on which to build. As departments reflect on assessment questions, they will be prompted to consider sustainability efforts in their current departmental operations and evaluate what future efforts may be feasible.

The role of the campus sustainability committee will be to:

  1. Work with supervisors to introduce assessment and garner support
  2. Help identify appropriate personnel to answer assessment questions
  3. Provide political support to the assessment project
  4. Monitor progress of assessment when reported by the Institute for Sustainable Development

The role of the Institute for Sustainable Development in this project will be to:

  1. Provide an assessment orientation workshop to the Sustainability committee
  2. Provide assessment orientation workshops for participating personnel
  3. Provide technical support for assessment
  4. Report on assessment progress at Campus Sustainability Committee Meetings
  5. Monitor assessment progress

Committee Membership and Organization

We propose that the CSC be composed of 17 members as identified below.
We recommend that the CSC be chaired by two co-chairs:

  1. The Vice President of Academic Affairs (or designee)
  2. The Vice President of Business and Finance (or designee)

We suggest that the committee include the following ex officio members:

  1. The Senior Director of facilities (or designee)
  2. The Director of Planning, Design, and Construction (or designee)
  3. The Executive Director of the Associated Students (or designee)
  4. Director of the Institute for Sustainable Development (or designee)
  5. The Sustainability Coordinator (or designee)
  6. The Associated Students Sustainability Coordinator (or designee)
  7. Associated Students Environmental Affairs Commissioner (or designee)

We further propose the following appointments to the committee:

  1. Representative appointed by the President
  2. Representative appointed by the Vice President of University Advancement
  3. Representative appointed by the Vice President of Student Affairs
  4. Staff member appointed by Staff Council
  5. Staff member from Information Resources appointed by Information Resources
  6. Student appointed by the Associated Students
  7. Faculty member appointed by Academic Senate (Potentially the General Education Sustainability Pathway Coordinator)
  8. Faculty member appointed by Academic Senate

All appointed faculty and staff members of the CSC would serve a two-year appointment with the option for renewal. Student representatives will serve one-year appointments. The faculty members appointed by the academic senate will serve two years on the committee, with the first year having one full, two-year term appointee and one temporary one-year appointee, in order to offset the terms of the two faculty member appointees.