Geography and Environmental Studies Department

Faculty & Staff

GEOP Faculty & Staff
Faculty
Scott Brady

Brady, Scott
Professor

Butte Hall 523
sbrady@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, American cultural landscapes, Central America and Mexico

Doctorate: PhD 1996,
Geography
Louisiana State University

Dean Fairbanks

Fairbanks, Dean
Professor

Butte Hall 533
dhfairbanks@csuchico.edu

Interests: Landscape ecology, bioclimatology, biogeography, land-use change, GIS, remote sensing
Doctorate: PhD 2001,

Ecology

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Don Hankins

Hankins, Don
Professor

University Reserves Land Stewardship Coordinator

Butte Hall 539
dhankins@csuchico.edu

Interests: Land restoration, pyrogeography, riparian habitats
Doctorate: PhD 2005,
Geography, Graduate Studies
University of California, Davis

Biography & Publications(opens in new window)

LaDona Knigge

Knigge, LaDona
Professor and Chair

Certificate in Land Use & Environmental Planning Coordinator

Butte Hall 509B
lknigge@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, urban gardens, community development, critical GIS, sustainable transportation
Doctorate: PhD 2006,
Geography
State University of New York, Buffalo

 

Naomi Lazarus

Lazarus, Naomi
Associate Professor

Certificate in Geospatial Technology Coordiinator

Latitude 39 Club Advisor

Butte Hall 525
nlazarus@csuchico.edu

Interests: GIS, cartography, quantitative methods, hazards
Doctorate: PhD 2014,
Geography
University of Connecticut, Storrs

Biography & Publications(opens in new window)

Noriyuki Sato

Sato, Noriyuki
Associate Professor

Butte Hall 535
nsato2@csuchico.edu

Interests: Applied climatology, climate change and impacts, transportation geography
Doctorate: PhD 2008,
Geography
Indiana University

 

Mark Stemen

Stemen, Mark
Professor

Butte Hall 541
mstemen@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability issues, historical geography, social change
Doctorate: PhD 1999,
History
University of Iowa

Instructors
Owen Bettis

Bettis, Owen
Instructor

obettis@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

Steve Herman

Herman, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B 
srherman@csuchico.edu

 Interests:  Global issues & languages, student engagement & retention, Ultimate Frisbee

Robert Pierce

Pierce, Robert
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B
rpierce@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

Steve Stewart

Stewart, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
sstewart1@csuchico.edu

Interests: The American West, cartography, GIS

Office Staff

Harris, Jennifer
Admin Support Coordinator

Butte Hall 507
jaharris@csuchico.edu

Interests: conservation biology, cycling, international development, xeriscaping, campus forms
Mariela

Mariela Rivera-Moreno

Student Assistant

Butte Hall 507

GeopStudent@csuchico.edu

Interests: soccer, bracelet making, learning different cultures, recycling, crunching numbers

Steinberg, Michael

Public Relations/Social Media Student Assistant

Butte Hall 507

GeopPR@csuchico.edu

Interests: storm chasing, wildfire photography, SF Giants baseball

Retired Faculty

Jacque Chase

Chase, Jacque
Professor Emerita
jchase@csuchico.edu

Interests: Rural planning, population, Latin America, and Northern California
Doctorate: PhD 1993,
Urban Planning
University of California, Los Angeles