Geography & Planning Department

Faculty & Staff

GEOP Faculty & Staff
Faculty
Scott Brady

Brady, Scott
Professor

Butte Hall 523
sbrady@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, American cultural landscapes, Central America and Mexico

Doctorate: PhD 1996,
Geography
Louisiana State University

Jacque Chase

Chase, Jacque
Professor Emerita
jchase@csuchico.edu

Interests: Rural planning, population, Latin America, and Northern California
Doctorate: PhD 1993,
Urban Planning
University of California, Los Angeles

Dean Fairbanks

Fairbanks, Dean
Professor

Butte Hall 533
dhfairbanks@csuchico.edu

Interests: Landscape ecology, bioclimatology, biogeography, land-use change, GIS, remote sensing
Doctorate: PhD 2001,

Ecology
University of Pretoria, South Africa

Don Hankins

Hankins, Don
Professor

University Reserves Land Stewardship Coordinator, Latitude 39 Advisor

Butte Hall 539
dhankins@csuchico.edu

Interests: Land restoration, pyrogeography, riparian habitats
Doctorate: PhD 2005,
Geography, Graduate Studies
University of California, Davis

Biography & Publications(opens in new window)

LaDona Knigge

Knigge, LaDona
Professor and Chair

Certificate in Geospatial Technology Coordinator

Butte Hall 509B
lknigge@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, urban gardens, community development, critical GIS, sustainable transportation
Doctorate: PhD 2006,
Geography
State University of New York, Buffalo

 

Naomi Lazarus

Lazarus, Naomi
Assistant Professor

Butte Hall 525
nlazarus@csuchico.edu

Interests: GIS, cartography, quantitative methods, hazards
Doctorate: PhD 2014,
Geography
University of Connecticut, Storrs

Biography & Publications(opens in new window)

Noriyuki Sato

Sato, Noriyuki
Associate Professor

Butte Hall 535
nsato2@csuchico.edu

Interests: Applied climatology, climate change and impacts, transportation geography
Doctorate: PhD 2008,
Geography
Indiana University

 

Mark Stemen

Stemen, Mark
Professor

Butte Hall 541
mstemen@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability issues, historical geography, social change
Doctorate: PhD 1999,
History
University of Iowa

Instructors

Bettencourt, Tracy
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
tnbettencourt@csuchico.edu

 Interests:

Owen Bettis

Bettis, Owen
Instructor

obettis@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

Steve Herman

Herman, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B 
srherman@csuchico.edu

 Interests: 

Jeremy Miller

Miller, Jeremy
Instructor

Holt Hall 144 
jmiller@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability, environmental issues, outdoor education, physical geography

Robert Pierce

Pierce, Robert
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B
rpierce@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

Steve Stewart

Stewart, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
sstewart1@csuchico.edu

Interests: The American West, cartography, GIS

Stone, Hayley
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
hmstone@csuchico.edu

Interests: 

Office Staff

Harris, Jennifer
ASC

Butte Hall 507
jaharris@csuchico.edu

Interests: cycling, xeriscaping, campus forms
Peter Hansen

Hansen, Peter
Information Technology Consultant II

Butte Hall 502
pzhansen@csuchico.edu 

Interests: GIS, project management, music

TBA

Student Assistant

Butte Hall 507

Interests:

TBA

PR Student Assistant

Butte Hall 507

 Interests: