University Police

Public Safety Advisory Committee

Committee Membership

University Police and Public Safety Advisory Committee and subcommittee membership shall include faculty, staff, and student representatives from the divisions of Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, Business and Finance, Information Technology, University Advancement, and the Associated Students (AS).

Voting Members (20-21)

  • Chief Diversity Officer
  • Dean of Students (or designee)
  • Director, Tribal Relations (or designee)
  • Associate Director, Cross Cultural Leadership Center (or designee)
  • Director, WellCat Services (or designee)
  • Director, Accessibility Resource Center (or designee)
  • Associate Vice President, Facilities Management and Services (or designee)
  • Associated Students Director of Social Justice and Equity
  • Associated Students Commissioner of Community Affairs
  • One student, appointed by the Associated Students
  • One to two students, selected via an Associated Students nomination process, appointed by the Dean of Students
  • Four faculty members, at least two who are either tenured professors (associate or full) or are lecturers with full-time, three-year unconditional appointments to the university, appointed by the Academic Senate Officers, in consultation with the Committee on Committees
  • Two staff members, appointed by Staff Council
  • One member of staff or faculty, appointed by the CSU Chico Labor Council
  • One officer of the University Police Department, appointed by the Chief of Police
  • One member of the community, appointed by the President

Student appointments will serve for one academic year, renewable. Appointed faculty and staff will serve staggered two-year terms with the ability to continue consecutive terms of service.

Non-Voting Members Staffed to the Committee (8)

  • Chief, University Police Department
  • Chair, Academic Senate (or designee)
  • Chief of Staff to the President
  • Director, Environmental Health and Safety (or designee)
  • Director, Risk Management (or designee)
  • Representative from the Office of Academic Personnel (OAPL)
  • Director, Labor Relations and Compliance/Title IX Coordinator/DHR Administrator (or designee)
  • Representative of University Communications

The committee will be co-chaired by one tenured faculty member or full-time lecturer and one student who have each served on the committee for at least one year. The co-chairs will be recommended by the committee and appointed by the President, pursuant to the CSU Campus Police and Safety Advisory Committee policy. The term of chair will commence at the beginning of each academic year, and shall be one year, renewable for up-to one year. No chair may serve for more than two consecutive years, but may return as chair after at least a one-year break in service as chair. 


  • To promote the cause of safety throughout the university
  • To increase awareness of safety conditions and programs among all members of the university community
  • To assist in describing the means for involving campus Public Safety Officers in the life of the university in ways that will create an environment that is the “most conducive to the intellectual, cultural, and personal development of its students”


EM 21-028 effective November 1, 2021 (supersedes EM 05-007 and EM 79-018)

Past Initiatives

  • Moonlight Safety Walk (fall): a collaborative event with Associated Students, University Police, Facilities Management and Services, and Environmental Health and Safety to assess security improvements on and around campus
  • Review of campus physical security standards 
  • Review of University Police crime statistics 
  • Review of University Police annual report
  • Review of Physical Security standards
  • Ongoing discussion of campus safety concerns, crisis communication protocols, and activity between University Police and Cabinet

Past Meeting Agendas & Notes