Sociology

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Liahna Gordon
Liahana Gordon

Department Chair 

EXT: 3196

legordon@csuchico.edu 

Ph.D, Sociology

Indiana University

Academic Interests: Sexuality, Gender, Research Methods

Hobbies: Travel, photography, mosaic crochet, and looking for treasures on the beach

Michell Armeanu

Lecturer/Distance Online Education Student Advisor

she/her/they/them

mlarmeanu@csuchico.edu 

M.A, Social Sciences and Career and Life Planning

Chico State

Academic Interests: I am passionate about helping students to succeed in their academic career; trust in their abilities; and manage the balance between life, work, and academic priorities.

Nandi Crosby
Nandi Crosby

Professor

EXT: 6200

ncrosby@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

Georgia State University

Academic Interests:  Gender, Race, Prison Industrial Complex, Pop Culture

Hobbies:  Activism, making things colorful, plants, and thrift shopping

Danielle Hidalgo
Daniel Hidalgo

Associate Professor/Advisor

EXT: 6397

dahidalgo@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Santa Barbara

Academic Interests:  Sexuality, Dance Music Culture, Globalization

Hobbies:  Dancing, cycling, and spending time with my nieces and kitties

  Visit my personal page! 

Martin Jacinto
Martin Jacinto

Assistant Professor

mjancito@csuchico.edu

Ph.D., Sociology

UC Irvine

Academic interest: Global political economy, inequality and stratification, social network analysis, quantitative research methods

Hobbies: Reading, photography, cooking, watching movies, and spending outdoor time with my partner and our dog.

Visit my personal page!(opens in new window)

Nik Janos
Nick Janos

Associate Professor 

EXT: 5691

njanos@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Santa Cruz

Academic Interests: Urbanization, Environment, Climate Change 

Hobbies: Soccer, reading, and cooking

Visit my personal page!

Lesa Johnson

Assistant Professor

EXT: 4145

ljohnson87@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Academic Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Social Psychology, Stratification/Inequality

Hobby: Gardening (aka killing plants, or daring them to live)

Alexandra Kokkinakis

Lecturer

EXT: 5542

akokkinakis@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Science

Chico State

Marianne Paiva

Lecturer and Chair of CSUC Faculty Senate 

EXT: 6657

mcpaiva@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

Kansas State University

Evelyn Pruneda

Assistant Professor

epruneda@csuchico.edu(opens in new window)

Ph.D., Sociology 

UC Riverside

Academic Interests: Gender, Race, Labor, Climate Change, Qualitative Research Methods

Hobbies: Reading, hiking, Lakers basketball, and streaming tv shows

Chunyan Echo Song

Professor

EXT: 4980

csong3@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

Arizona State University

Academic Interests: Demography, Race Ethnicity, Sociology of Food

Hobbies: Hiking, photography, and reading

Dana Williams

Professor

EXT: 5076

dmwilliams@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

University of Akron

Academic Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Social Inequality, Anarchist Studies

Visit my personal website!

Lauren Wilson

Lecturer

EXT: 5545

lswilson@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Science and Women's Studies

Chico State

Part-Time Faculty Fall 2022

Dawn Frank

Lecturer and Director of Student Learning Center

EXT: 6839

dtfrank@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Science

Chico State

Jaymes Lackey

Lecturer 

EXT: 4646

Jlackey1@csuchico.edu 

M.Div.

Seattle Pacific University

Academic Interests: Sociology, Philosophy, Theology

Hobbies: Cooking, wood & soap carvings. I play lots of instruments mediocrely from guitar, drums, bass, banjo, trumpet, and keys.

Tonya Lindsey

Lecturer

EXT: 6384

tlindsey@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Santa Barbara

Academic Interests: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods, Public Sociology

Hobbies: DIY, Netflix of course, critters, and swimming

Dilia Loe

Lecturer

EXT: 5543

dloe@csuchico.edu

M.A, Theological Studies

Emory University

Norman Skonovd

Lecturer

EXT: 4646

lskonovd@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Davis

Academic Interests: Criminology, Juvenile Justice, Sociology of Religion

Hobbies: Hiking, travel, and genealogy

Suzanne R. Slusser

Lecturer

EXT: 5543

sslusser@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

University of Akron

Anne Marie Snider

Lecturer

asnider@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Medical Sociology

University of Queensland, Australia

Academic Interests: Alternative understandings of recovery from mental health challenges, Spirituality and mental health experiences, Sermons and church openings during COVID19

Hobbies: Singing songs about elephant seals, watercolors and drawings of fish and lines

Heather Werner

Lecturer

hwerner1@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Work

Chico State

Academic Interests: Work/Family Balance, Perinatal/Postnatal Mental Health, Child Welfare Adoption/Post-Adoption

Hobbies: Reading, knitting, gardening, and being in nature

Office Staff

Megan Rawie

ASC

EXT: 4954

mrawie@csuchico.edu

Valantina Y. Rashoo

College/ Major Advisor 

EXT: 6265

frashoo@csuchico.edu

B.A, Sociology

Chico State

Academic Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Social Inequality, Social Psychology

Hobbies: Playing tennis, going to the gym, and watching Netflix

Sjon Woodlyn

Tutor

(916) 407-6183

sowoodlyn@mail.csuchico.edu

A.A, Behavioral Sciences

Academic Interests: Improving the breadth and depth of my understanding in the science of sociology to better serve fellow students

Hobbies: Reading, anything technology, and enjoying the company of family and friends

Mayra Saballos

Student Assistant

Academic Interests: Calculus and Manufacturing

Hobbies: Spending time with my dog and going on hikes