Sociology

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Liahna Gordon
Liahana Gordon

Department Chair 

EXT: 3196

legordon@csuchico.edu 

Ph.D, Sociology

Indiana University

Academic Interests: Sexuality, Gender, Research Methods

Hobbies: Travel, photography, mosaic crochet, and looking for treasures on the beach

Michell Armeanu

Lecturer and  Major Advisor

she/her/they/them

mlarmeanu@csuchico.edu 

M.A, Social Sciences and Career and Life Planning

Chico State

Academic Interests: I am passionate about helping students to succeed in their academic career; trust in their abilities; and manage the balance between life, work, and academic priorities.

Nandi Crosby
Nandi Crosby

Professor

EXT: 6200

ncrosby@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

Georgia State University

Academic Interests:  Gender, Race, Prison Industrial Complex, Pop Culture

Hobbies:  Activism, making things colorful, plants, and thrift shopping

Danielle Hidalgo
Daniel Hidalgo

Associate Professor and Major Advisor

EXT: 6397

dahidalgo@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Santa Barbara

Academic Interests:  Sexuality, Dance Music Culture, Globalization

Hobbies:  Dancing, cycling, and spending time with my nieces and kitties

Visit my personal page!

Martin Jacinto
Martin Jacinto

Assistant Professor

EXT: 4145

mjancito@csuchico.edu

Ph.D., Sociology

UC Irvine

Academic interest: Global political economy, inequality and stratification, social network analysis, quantitative research methods

Hobbies: Reading, photography, cooking, watching movies, and spending outdoor time with my partner and our dog.

Visit my personal page!(opens in new window)

Nik Janos
Nick Janos

Associate Professor 

EXT: 5691

njanos@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Santa Cruz

Academic Interests: Urbanization, Environment, Climate Change 

Hobbies: Soccer, reading, and cooking

Visit my personal page!

Alexandra Kokkinakis

Lecturer

EXT: 5542

akokkinakis@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Science

Chico State

Marianne Paiva

Lecturer and Chair of CSUC Faculty Senate 

EXT: 6657

mcpaiva@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

Kansas State University

Evelyn Pruneda

Assistant Professor

EXT: 6413

epruneda@csuchico.edu(opens in new window)

Ph.D., Sociology 

UC Riverside

Academic Interests: Gender, Race, Labor, Climate Change, Qualitative Research Methods

Hobbies: Reading, hiking, Lakers basketball, and streaming tv shows

Chunyan Echo Song

Professor and Major Advisor 

EXT: 4980

csong3@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

Arizona State University

Academic Interests: Demography, Race Ethnicity, Sociology of Food

Hobbies: Hiking, photography, and reading

Dana Williams

Professor

EXT: 5076

dmwilliams@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

University of Akron

Academic Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Social Inequality, Anarchist Studies

Visit my personal website!

Lauren Wilson

Lecturer

EXT: 5545

lswilson@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Science and Women's Studies

Chico State

Part-Time Faculty Fall 2022

Dawn Frank

Lecturer and Director of Student Learning Center

EXT: 6839

dtfrank@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Science

Chico State

Jaymes Lackey

Lecturer 

EXT: 4646

Jlackey1@csuchico.edu 

M.Div.

Seattle Pacific University

Academic Interests: Sociology, Philosophy, Theology

Hobbies: Cooking, wood & soap carvings. I play lots of instruments mediocrely from guitar, drums, bass, banjo, trumpet, and keys.

Tonya Lindsey

Lecturer

EXT: 6384

tlindsey@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Santa Barbara

Academic Interests: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods, Public Sociology

Hobbies: DIY, Netflix of course, critters, and swimming

Dilia Loe

Lecturer

EXT: 5543

dloe@csuchico.edu

M.A, Theological Studies

Emory University

Academic Interests: Social Policy, Community Capacity Building, Organizational Development; Applied Sociology, Grantwriting 

Hobbies: Travel, hiking, pilates, cycling, baking, cooking, gardening, watching movies, and sharing time and space with my spouse and our dog. 

Norman Skonovd

Lecturer

EXT: 4646

lskonovd@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

UC Davis

Academic Interests: Criminology, Juvenile Justice, Sociology of Religion

Hobbies: Hiking, travel, and genealogy

Suzanne R. Slusser

Lecturer

EXT: 5543

sslusser@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Sociology

University of Akron

Anne Marie Snider

Lecturer

asnider@csuchico.edu

Ph.D, Medical Sociology

University of Queensland, Australia

Academic Interests: Alternative understandings of recovery from mental health challenges, Spirituality and mental health experiences, Sermons and church openings during COVID19

Hobbies: Singing songs about elephant seals, watercolors and drawings of fish and lines

Visit Anne's personal website!(opens in new window)

Heather Werner

Lecturer

hwerner1@csuchico.edu

M.A, Social Work

Chico State

Academic Interests: Work/Family Balance, Perinatal/Postnatal Mental Health, Child Welfare Adoption/Post-Adoption

Hobbies: Reading, knitting, gardening, and being in nature

Office Staff

Megan Rawie

Administrative Support Coordinator

EXT: 4954

mrawie@csuchico.edu

Hobbies: Camping, hanging out with family and my dog (Buster P. Wigglebutt) and two cats (Beasley, 22 years old and Nubbins, 14 years old and our one and only foster fail), and listening to music. Michael Franti and Ozomatli are two all my time favorites! A highlight of 2022 was meeting Michael Franti & Spearhead with special guest Cappy, twice for special meet & greet shows. Music heals!

Valantina Y. Rashoo

Sociology Major Advisor

EXT: 6265

frashoo@csuchico.edu

B.A, Sociology

Chico State

Hobbies: Playing tennis, going to the gym, and watching Netflix

Sarah Weatherbee

Academic Advising Intern

She | Her | Hers

sfweatherbee@csuchico.edu

Hobbies: spending time outside, listening to music, and learning new things

Sjon Woodlyn

Tutor

(916) 407-6183

sowoodlyn@mail.csuchico.edu

A.A, Behavioral Sciences

Chico State

Hobbies: Reading, anything technology, and enjoying the company of family and friends

Mayra Saballos

Student Assistant

Academic Interests: Calculus and Manufacturing

Hobbies: Spending time with my dog and going on hikes

Morgan Lobotzke

Student Assistant

Academic Interests: Environmental Science, Applied Ecology

Hobbies: Reading, crocheting, and spending time with friends and family

Skylar D Darrow

Student Assistant

Academic interest: Chemistry, neuroscience, and social sciences.

Hobbies: Painting, playing drums, learning, and going on walks.

Emeritus Faculty

Clark A Davis 
1970
Doctor of Philosophy, Utah St Univ

Carol F Edelman
Doctor of Philosophy, Univ Of Arizona

James A Erickson 
1967

James O Haehn

Kathleen E Kaiser 
1972
Doctor of Philosophy, Duke Univ

Gayle H Kimball 
1972

Janja A Lalich
Doctor of Philosophy, Fielding Institute

Grace M Marvin

Scott G Mcnall
Doctor of Philosophy, Univ Of Oregon

Dan J Pence
Doctor of Philosophy, Univ Of Colorado At Boulder

Julio J Quinones


Cynthia M Siemsen
Doctor of Philosophy, Univ Of Cal-Santa Cruz

Anthony E Waters
Doctor of Philosophy, Univ Of Cal-Davis

Laurie A Wermuth
Doctor of Philosophy, Univ Of Cal-Berkeley