College of Agriculture

Excellence in Agriculture

The Excellence in Agriculture Awards Reception shines a spotlight on the outstanding achievements of College of Agriculture students, faculty, and staff, and recognizes donors. This event took place in the Bell Memorial Union on the Chico State campus on May 16, 2022. The event served to heighten the visibility of existing awards such as the Graduates of Distinction, Star Students, and Club of the Year, as well as to honor exceptional faculty and staff. 

Outstanding Student Leader 

Each year, the College of Agriculture selects one student to receive the Outstanding Student Leader Award. The 2022 recipient is Tyler Jenkins. Tyler was the College of Agriculture’s 2021-2022 Student Senator and worked at the Organic Vegetable Project at the University Farm. He will be continuing his education by attending graduate school at Sacramento State in educational leadership and policy studies.  

Tyler Jenkins

Star Students 

Each year, Chico State’s College of Agriculture recognizes one exemplary student within each discipline as a Star Student. You can view complete articles on all of our past Star Students on our website 

Kurt Sheppard: Agricultural Business (Hometown Biggs, California) 

Kurt Sheppard

Daniel Casas: Agricultural Education (Hometown Oakdale, California) 

Daniel Casas

Delaney Sarantopulos: Animal Science (Hometown Elk Grove, California) 

Delaney Sarantopulos

Consuelo Baez Vega: Plant and Soil Science (Hometown Thermal, California)

Consuelo Baez Vega 

Club of the Year 

The 2022 Club of the Year is the Crops and Horticulture Club, which was recognized for its leadership, service, and outreach with a $500 award from Superior Ag. 

Crops and Horticulture Club

Faculty and Staff of the Year 

The Faculty and Staff of the Year Awards are nominated and selected by students. They include donor-funded monetary awards for continued professional development.   

Agricultural Education Professor Alyssa Schager received the Faculty of the Year award. She has made her mark on Chico State with her trademark enthusiasm, encouragement, and dedication to student success.  

Alyssa Schager

The Staff of the Year award went to Darby Heffner. As the Organic Dairy Unit manager, she supports and guides students by offering industry tours and opportunities for hands-on learning. 

Darby Heffner

Commencement Awards 

Honors in General Education: Alysha Singh 

Honors in the Major of Plant and Soil Science: Angel De Trinidad 

Graduates of Distinction 

The following seniors graduated with exceptional academic achievement and earned medallions to wear at Commencement: 

Cum Laude

Paige Baker: Agricultural Business 

Jordyn Kesting: Agricultural Business 

Aidan Tara Mcnerney: Animal Science 

Callie Norton: Agricultural Education 

Sophia Trask: Animal Science 

Magna Cum Laude

Consuelo Baez Vega: Plant and Soil Science 

Haley Duenas: Animal Science 

Rebecca Fleming: Agricultural Business 

James Young: Agricultural Business 

Summa Cum Laude 

Belinda Espinoza: Agricultural Education 

Taylor Gallaty: Agricultural Business 

Tyler Jenkins: Agricultural Education 

Outstanding Graduates in Agricultural Business 

James Young 

Jordyn Kesting 

Samantha Jackson 

Outstanding Graduates in Agricultural Education 

Brianne Shannon 

Callie Norton 

Dillion Guillen 

Outstanding Graduates in Animal Science 

Emely Arevalo 

Marissa Budesilich 

Mary Holbert  

Outstanding Graduates in Plant and Soil Science 

Angel De Trinidad 

Consuelo Baez Vega 

Hope Coulter