Staff Council


Staff Academic Award

The Staff Academic Award is designed to assist a staff employee who is furthering their educational goals. An academic award of $500 will be given each spring and fall to a staff employee. The award will be presented during a Staff Council meeting at the beginning of each semester for which it is granted. The award is sponsored by Chico State Administration. 


To be eligible the applicant must be: Currently employed on a half-time or greater basis as a staff member of CSU, Chico, Associated Students, University Foundation, or the Research Foundation. The applicant must also be attending or planning to attend an accredited institution of higher education and enrolled in classes for the semester in which they are applying for the award.

2018 Staff Excellence Award Nominees 

Congratulations to our Employee of the Year Nominees: April Whitley, Abbie Page, Kathy Castleberry, Kathy Vargas, Lynn Taylor, Peggy Armocido, and Gina Tigri! 

Congratulations to our Customer Service Award Nominees: Josie Gilmore, Gary Walters, Flora Nunn, Jessica Gutierrez, Kathleen Berry-Garrett, Sharon Cain, and Kelly Engle! 

Congratulations to our Wildcat Spirit Award Nominees: Katie Sibley and Danielle Anderson! 

New this year is the Staff Safety Award (PDF)! Congratulations to our Staff Safety Award Nominees: Keith Crawford, Sydney Petyo, and Tom Ussery!

Thank you to all the Nominees for your hard work and all you do for our beautiful campus! Head over to our FaceBook page to see additional information! 

Staff Employee of the Year Award

Our 2018 Staff Employee of the Year was announced at the 48th Annual Staff Awards Luncheon on Thursday, May 23th. This esteemed award is presented to a staff employee of CSU, Chico for their outstanding service.  Nominees must be a nonacademic, state, Research Foundation, University Foundation or Associated Student employee working at least half-time or greater. Award recipients are chosen based on personal contributions to the campus, their relationships with people and University-wide service. 

Past Outstanding Staff Employee of the Year List 1974-2018. (PDF)

2018 Staff Employee of the Year

We congratulate Kathy Castleberry, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, for being selected as CSU, Chico's 2018 Outstanding Staff Employee of the Year for 2018! 
Thank you, Kathy, for all you do for our CSU, Chico campus!

Kathy standing with award

Pictured: Kathy Castleberry, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
*Photo Credit:  Jason Halley; University Photographer

2018 Wildcat Spirit Award & Customer Service Award

The nomination period for the 2018 Wildcat Spirit Award (PDF) and 2018 Customer Service Award (PDF) have been closed. Thank you to everyone who sent in applications! Questions regarding award nominations may be directed to Staff Council Office, x5905.  The awards will be presented at the 48th Annual Staff Awards Luncheon on May 23, 2019. 

The Wildcat Spirit Award (PDF) was created to award a staff employee who displays exceptional Wildcat spirit.

The recipient of our 2018 Wildcat Spirit Award is Katie Sibley, Facilities Management and Services. Congratulations, Katie! Your Wildcat Spirit is contagious to all across our Chico State campus.

Katie holding award

Pictured:  Katie Sibley; Facilities Management and Services
*Photo Credit:  Jason Halley; University Photographer

The Customer Service Award (PDF) will be awarded to a staff member who displays exemplary customer service.

This year's Customer Service Award recipient is Flora Nunn, Library Circulation/Interlibrary Services. We congratulate Flora on her outstanding demonstration of fantastic customer service!

Flora holding award

Pictured: Flora Nunn; Library Circulation/Interlibrary Services
*Photo Credit: Jason Halley; University Photographer

2018 Staff Safety Award

This year's Staff Safety Award recipient is Keith Crawford, Adventure Outings.  We congratulate Keith on his outstanding safety practices on campus.

 Keith holding plaque

 Pictured: Keith Crawford, Adventure Outings

*Photo Credit: Jason Halley, University Photographer